I'm hitting the road. On Saturday! Roadtrip 2018 is right here. Hello Italy, Slovenia and Serbia!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I'm done with planning of my summer roadtrip. It includes a ferry and more than 3000 kilometers of driving. Well, for 9 days it isn't that much, huh? At least last August it was almost in the same range.

Capture.JPG

I'm starting in Sofia. On Saturday the plan is to reach Igoumenitsa, Greece, where hopefully will have the chance to cool down in the Adriatic. Ferry is leaving Igoumenitsa about midnight and my first night will be spent travelling in Adriatic sea.
Brilliant!


Igoumenitsa, Greece

The arrival in Italy is in the city of Brindisi, and we have a short drive (about 2 hours) to Bari. There will be my first actual night in a comfy bed! The great part is, that because of arriving earlier, we will have some time for sunbathing and some beaching, as well as going around the old town in the evening.

Bari, Italy

The next morning I will head towards Amalfi coast, where I will spend another night. The initial plan was not to reach the western Italy coast, but after a lot of thinking decided, that the chance to visit the Amalfi coast is great and I really must not miss that.


The beautiful Amalfi coast

Well, right after Amalfi - Assisi! We will experience the inner cities too, right? Assisi is referred as a pilgrimage city and it everyday welcomes a lot of tourists both going there on religious purpose, or just a tourist one. I just really hope, that the tourists will not overcrowd the streets.


St. Francis Basilica - Assisi

Next step - San Marino! This small country really sounded somehow charming for me, and having in mind, that there are not a lot of places to sleep in this country, the evening walk must be really pleasurable and calm. The medieval castles in the region are quite mighty and it seems they "see" all the surrounding area, or in the case of San Marino - all the country!


San Marino castle

Time for enter in Italy back and drive to Venezia for a lunch. I considered having a hotel and spending the night there, but finally decided going there for a day walk should be better. Evening - leave Italy and experience Slovenia! Ljubljana! Last year I had the chance to visit Maribor, and was really impressed by this little Slovenian city. That's why I and my girl were sure, that we want to go there. We liked every single bit of Slovenia last year - both the cities and the villages.

Finally, on my way back to Bulgaria, I will have a stop in Belgrade, just to avoid driving 12+ hours on my last day of the trip. Of course, I plan to visit the local brewery - Dogma, and I will be really excited if I have the chance to visit their bar, which is bust by the brewery itself. Anyway, I will be happy to eat some tasty Serbian food too! You ever heard about "pleskavitsa"


*Belgrade at night."

So that is my planned trip, and I'm soo excited already. My mind is on the road these day ans I cannot concentrate on anything at all. Well, see you in some time. I'll be back with a lot of photos.

Sort:  

Have fun, man! 🚗

Мерси! Очаквайте разни снимки!

Have a great time :)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83