Exploring the South of Mahe

in #travel6 years ago

When you're staying in such a beautiful place as the Seychelles, it's important to not focus on photography alone. From time to time head out without the intention of capturing a photo and just enjoy the landscape.

This is what I did on our third day on Mahe. I went on a jungle hike through the south of the island. I started the hike right at our hotel, went along the mile long beach, at which I had taken the photo I shared in the last article about my time on Mahe, and then followed a narrow trail along the coast.

Although I didn't capture a photo that day, I filmed some B-roll, trying to record the experience in video instead of a single photo. It's great, how starting to vlog created a whole new way to creatively express myself. In the past it was always about that one photo, that single moment where all came together. With video I now have much more creative freedom and it's easier to share the whole experience of a photo shoot or, as in this case, a jungle hike with you.

I also found that recording video doesn't require so much focus as when I'm taking a single photo, where everything has to fit. So while I was hiking that day and recording, besides some staged shots of me waking through the frame, I had my mind wandering, taking it all in and enjoying the hike.

That doesn't mean that when I'm out taking photos I don't enjoy nature. But it's easier to get lost in the process and I find I often have to remind myself to just let go for a moment, take a step back and forget about the photo, which I'm about to take.

Palm trees and granite rocks line the coast of Mahe

Well, and a day later I actually came back to one of the beaches I found during the hike. This time with the intent of taking a photo. The video about that sunrise shoot will be up next weekend on my Youtube channel and I'll also share it here afterwards.

Michael Breitung Photography

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-13T13:38:15
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 416.64/800.00
Total Photos: 41
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations @mibreit-photo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25