Carnival Trip - Day 1 - Road and Kozani Festivities

in #travel5 years ago

IMG_20190310_130054.jpg

Hello everyone! I am still alive! :)) After so many days I finally got time to tell you a bit about my recent trip with the occasion of the Carnival festivities in Greece. It's been quite tiresome so I took my time to get back to my usual daily habits.

I've never before witnessed the concept of a carnival in front of me, around me, and I can say that it's pretty cool. We've been to Kozani, to Florina and Ioannina, but also some small places in between.

IMG_20190309_143130.jpg

Here's how our trip begun, with a big bright sun shining on us. The road was almost empty, so we got to our first stop in no time, to a small village called Drosopigi. The first photo in this post is from that place, where we've been welcomed with open arms by our host. It was a heartwarming place, a traditional rural house, so very cozy and with a beautiful and relaxing atmosphere. We will surely remember that place and the wonderful people :)

I have here a couple photos of the colorful land. It is really impressive to see all those different nuances in nature. I was stunned at first, and then I tried to take some pictures :))

IMG_20190309_153847.jpg

IMG_20190309_153851.jpg

Later on we got back on the road to Kozani. We arrived late in the evening, but got on time to catch some of the shows. We saw a dance competition between schools, I believe, which was very nice.

IMG_20190309_204940.jpg

But more than anything we saw costumes of all colors and sizes. People were so inventive, you couldn't believe! By simply standing around and watching everyone you would've been entertained, and if you enjoyed the music the better :) It was a bit different for us because we weren't accustomed with the Greek songs, but in general everyone seemed to enjoy it. We even had our share of Macarena, so we were happy :))

IMG_20190309_234000.jpg

In the center there was this beautiful tower. I would've only liked to catch it in daylight, sadly my camera doesn't behave so well in the nighttime. I hope it gives at least a bit of the idea of what it is like to be there.

IMG_20190309_234008.jpg

The last two photos are of a church that was our guiding light, shall we say. We parked nearby and we've used this marvelous church as a checkpoint. Again, would've loved to see it during the day, but it was still a very beautiful sight :)

IMG_20190310_000153.jpg

IMG_20190310_000317.jpg

This concludes the first day of the trip, but there were two more! So stand by the following days to see how it all went :)

Hope you've enjoyed my post! I will see you very soon!

And as always, have a great day, friends! :)

Sort:  

Hello!~ ~^^~

Oooooo~ Carnival festivals are such a non-thing here in the USA nowadays for such an odd reason (or set of reasons as the years go on). O, “we” - got a good friend with yah?~ :D :D Also that’s quite a trek to see some festivals!~

Picturas (Pictures): I like to divert everybody’s attention from the convo to actually the picturas. First of all: love how breathtaking each shot is, some are blurry, but some are very clear and jam-packed with details and I must say for the sharp picturas that I do wanna climb into them like house windows and have fun in some of these areas. Also there’s a multiplicity of areas/subjects from architecture to the carnival festival itself - just aw! Good job on that department (and the text to pictura ratio as well~)

The content: The pacing (of two paragraphs [paras] and conversational text) really works well here. The talks of where yah went, what happened, the emoticons(!), describing the fotos (photos) and what yah saw and the progress in between were all done nicely. Not only that but help characterize the fotos (photos) and make sense of the inbetween periods. (The churches, though Greek in nature and thus Orthodox, has those patterns influenced from Muslim Mosques with the Arabesque and geometry. Yet carrying the very culture of arches and pillars/columns from the Antiquity Greco-Roman period. Nice shots!)

So keep on travelling and happy steeming!

Aww, thank you so much for the nice words!!!

It really helps me to see the things I've done right with writing this post. I want everyone to get to experience a bit of what I felt and not be bored by either too much text or just too many photos without context.

I really appreciate you sharing your thoughts. Indeed the church shows those influences from the mosques. I would guess it is strongly related to the ottoman occupation, but I will have to study much more of Greek history to find out. It's on the list of things to do :)

Thank you again and see you around!

Welcome for the comment! ~^^~
I love comments like them as well~
~^^~ It just had the physical appearance but I need to study my history again as well :^D
Thanks for sharing the post once again!~

Don't worry about your camera as the tower photo is fine.It looks like you got to experience the festivities and everyday life which is a learning experience on it's own.

Indeed, it was an amazing experience and it just made me more curious about people and culture :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi there @michael.dime!

Carnival has always brought so much happiness in all of us. How can it not be when everything is full of fun and colors everywhere. Its a magical place to be happy and have the grandest fun..

We feel the hype with you!

Keep on steeming! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

It's wonderful that this sort of festivities happen around the world. It's lovely to celebrate in such a happy and exciting manner!

Thank you for your nice message @maquemali! <3

Well thank you for sharing your carnuval experience with us. It reminds us to break away from reality and have a little fun time..

Do travel more! You have plenty to discover for sure..

Posted using Partiko Android

It's great that you wrote your first experience with the carnival, it gives me a chance to experience it all over again with a new set of eyes. I like looking at your photos, the places and people you have met are beautiful and colourful.
                       
Congratulations for getting your first curie vote, Michael ^_^.

Ah what! I’ve been noticing yah around these plains of @curie upvoted comments! Nice to see yer comments, we should start an injoke here and see how long we can run it inbetween curie-upvoted posts.
Anywho, I agree that these are the takeaways of the post and worthy of a curie.
Also this is Michæl’s first curie! Congrats oncemore!

Thank you scrawly! I am glad I was able to show things from my perspective, It was so different from what I've experienced before!

I appreciate your support very much!!! :D

Loooooooooove this, Mike :) Your happiness and hype are so charming and they oooooooooze off the post <3 I am glad you are enjoying Carnival !!!

Amazing to have followed your greek adventures with every post so far * ___ *

Congrats for Curie, too <3

Look, the Spidery Spider is out about weaving webs of nice comments as she curates! So nice yer comments and so kind as well! (Forgot to say this on the comment @curie contest page: congrats on winning first place!)

OMG I didn't know i won XD (just went there now and upvoted it)

Geeeeeeez i can be very absent minded XD;;;;;;;; aaaaaaaaaaah embarrassing XD XD XD

Thanks for letting me know, felixi <3 <3 <3

Yah did! :D :D!!!~
Nie, nothing to be embarrassed about; just don't let it happen again ;^
And yer welcome Spidey-widey, the very very spidery spider~ <<<<3333

Thank you spidey!!! I am so happy to have you around on my journey, it's lovely to be able to show my thoughts and experiences with people as supportive as you! <3

Hi michael.dime,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much! It means a lot to have the support of such an amazing community! <3

Congratulations @michael.dime! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

oo my God.....Its carnival again....yupeeeee
It is always a great experience to enjoy great moments, such as this. I really enjoyed your write up and i can see you had a great fun at the ended of everything. Your pictures were really worthwhile and i like them.
the flow in your write up was really a thing of great moments.
great piece and keep the trip spirit up

I am glad you enjoyed reading my post! :) Always happy to share wonderful moments and stories with this beautiful community!

And users on the blockchain are always happy to read them too.
You are humbly welcome by the way

Posted using Partiko Android

Waiting for more....👍 A perfect Sunny day, all the natural naunces and then the carnival.👌 What would be a better way to make a perfect day😉. Just enjoy the land of wonder ..Greece

Posted using Partiko Android

I will! As much as possible :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87