Google Earth is my new favorite toy

in #travel5 years ago

n023qpnvie.png

This post is a bit random, but I wanted to share with you all my current new obsession. So Google Earth isn't new by any means. I used it years ago, I feel like back when it first came out. back then it was mostly satellite data, which was already pretty cool, but it's MUCH cooler now. Now most major cities and geological sites have extremely detailed 3D data.

HongKong.gif
Hong Kong

You can literally fly around the world and see detailed 3D maps of the entire world. Not every city has 3D data though. I watched a video and found out that the 3D data is captured from airplanes, so I guess Google can't just fly over anyone's airspace, but the ones it does have look great and are amazingly detailed.

GrandCanyon.gif
The Grand Canyon

Hollywood.gif
Hollywood(obviously)

Over the past few days, I've spent hours just exploring. It's also exposing my ignorance of geography. Since I don't have a globe in my house, I realize there's a lot of places in the world that I know of, but I didn't actually know where on the planet they were. Like Fiji, and to be honest, I didn't even know where New Zealand was in relation to everything else. It's really fun to just fly around the world and explore. Not to mention, all the places where people have uploaded photos to Google, you can see those y clicking on the different sites. I was even able to see some monuments in North Korea.

SanJuanPuertoRico.gif
San Juan, Puerto Rico

So if you haven't played with Google Earth in a while I highly recommend it. It's super fun to get lost and explore a virtual version of our planet!

https://earth.google.com/web/

Sort:  

I need to check it out again soon. I am always surprised at the latest developments in technology. Thanks for the reminder.

Yes, it’s really neat 😊

On the geography front well least you’re not my kids who from their own research interests, the internet and the world map and globe we have in the house know the capital cities and locations of many places but not their own country 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha, well with this it’s fun to fly around my own city as well so it might help 😁

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @midlet!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.360 which ranks you at #2362 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 37 places in the last three days (old rank 2399).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 226 contributions, your post is ranked at #26.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This is amazing, I love looking at maps, geography and traveling . Now I can travel around world from the comfort of my home. Thanks for the post.

Thank you for sharing this amazing toy @midlet I get addicted to it.
By the way, I hope you share your great skill of drawing and anatomy for the nTopaz drawing contest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16