On my way to Dokdo

in #travel5 years ago

image

image

image image image

image

My day began at 1:30am. The teachers in our district got on a bus to the ferry stop in Euljin. It was a four hour bus ride from Seoul.

The Ferry ride across the sea was like an amusement park ride. The wierd thing is that the ferry played the news on the boat during the ride and the news was about another boat that sank in Europe called the Viking. This news report did not make me feel better about taking a three hour ferry to an island.

Now we are at an island called Euleungdo. Tomorrow we will visit Dokdo a disputed area. Korea has older written documents claiming the land is theirs. But the rock was first named by France and Korean and Japenese fishing boats have always been in the area.

I guess the purpose of this trip is to teach us the significance of these islands to Korea. We just arrived and the lunch was mussel mixed rice and lots of seaweed. I liked it and feel happy and refreshed.

I really needed to get out of the city and get some fresh air. This island is really quiet. My kids told me the trip is too difficult but I really did need a break from classes for some educational outing. Another teacher will teach my classes up till Wednesday so it is kind of a vacation for me.

I will keep you posted.

@mineopoly

Sort:  

Being inside a classroom can be a strain. It is very nice to get out and see the world. Wishing you wonderful trip:)

Thanks @prydefoltz,

Maybe this fresh air will have a trigger to weave something new.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73