Surfing and camping through South America

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I'm a 34 year old Australian travelling through South America on a tight budget. I couldn't find much infomation on places to camp so I decided to share some of my experiences here. This is my first ever steemit post.

PERU.
It very common for Peruvians to camp on the beaches during summer, you can pretty much camp on any beach, but the problem is unless you with a big group your always going to be worried about leaving you tent alone. Here is a list of camping sites.

MANCORA
Has at least 4 options. I stayed at Camping de Tito, which has a Kitchen, WIFI, shower and toilets. It's 1 block from the beach and like a 10min walk along the beach to the point. I payed around $2 a night to camp there and I definitly have nothing to complain about. Tito also has a coulpe of extra tents that he rents out if you don't have one.

LOBITOS
There are 2 opticiones in Lobitos, I've stayed in Los Muelles Surf Camp twice and its one of my favorite places in the world! Its basically a 2 storey abandoned military base that some has bought and turned into a surf camp. It has a panoramic view of the ocean, Kichen, hamocks showers and toilets. I paid $4 a night and highly recommend! Its located in front of the pier where u can buy fish fillets dirt cheap and its a about a 10 min walk along the beach to the main breaks, generales, la punta and picinas.

CHICAMA

I got lucky while I was looking for a place to camp and met Jesus 'El Zorro' and he offered me a spot to camp in the back of his shop for $4 a night, it was the Easter long weekend so you can probably bargin him down and get a better price others times of the year. There's a shower and a toilet and you can ask the hostel next door for their WIFI password, no Kitchen but you can get cheap menus in town. You can contact Jesus on +5198 345 6605 or just rock up to his surf shop 'El Zorro' and ask. He also has a room above his shop to rent. Recommened because there are not many budget options in town, it sucks not having a kitchen, but its alot better then camping on the beach.

HAUNCHACO

La Gringa backpacker hostel offeres spaces on the roof to camp, with WIFI, kitchen, hot showers, toilet. Located in front of the pier, also has dorm and private rooms. Good place to meet people, recommened

ECUADOR

AYAMPE/Las Tunas
Woww just woww, La Iguana is the nicest place I've ever stayed! Hot showers, toilets with toilet paper, luxury hammocks, kitchen, big common area, fast WIFI, sheltered spaces to camp. This is almost Glamping. La Iguana is basicly a nice hotel that offers a couple of camping spots. $6 a night, but its worth it. I love this place!

MONTAÑITA

I stayed at Los Tigrillos, I didn't see any other options, but I'm sure there are. Its a really nice place with passion fruit trees, WIFI that works really good sometimes, an open kitchen and showers and toilet. Recommened

Sort:  

I almost didn't click on your post because there wasn't a photo but i'm glad i did. Did you take any surf shots? Would be great to see.

@intrepidsurfer has a weekly surf photo contest that a few of us enter. Think about entering if you have some photos!

https://steemit.com/intrepidsurfer/@intrepidsurfer/steem-surf-photo-giveaway-week-5-4-prizes-worth-7-sbd

Thanks rossfletcher! That was my first ever post and it was kind of an experiment to see how everything works. I'm going to update it with pitures soon!

Travel shots are great. Don't hesitate to post everyday if you have photos! A little story and some shots and you're good to go!

nice post @rossfletcher I follow @intrepidsurfer as well, infact I bought a sandwich from him today :D

Those sandwiches look good!

Ahhhh so is intrepidsurfer the breadman?

@mrfantastik, congratulations on making your first post! I gave you a $.05 vote!
Please take a moment to read this post regarding commenting and spam. (tl;dr - if you spam, you will be flagged!)

Congratulations @mrfantastik! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13