Puerto Cisnes - Chile | Photography | Funny Little Story About Tides

in #travel6 years ago

Hooray you mighty readers! How are you? Aren't tides funny things? My observations of the Pacific.


One day hitchhiking freely in this world of ours I stumbled upon a great little place in Chile called Puerto Cisnes. I'll talk about it in a full travel story post, since I have a great one about this little place. For that you'll have to stay tuned my dear reader.

For now I'd like to show you some interesting photographs I've taken on diferent days, same local though.

Have you ever stopped for a bit to just observe the tides? Once in history the great navigation methods were discovered by just observing our space; how the tides moved, the stars, the sun. For many years we thought that the sun was rotating the earth! Isn't that crazy?

I find it incredible how the forces exerted by the sun and the moon can move the water around us. Well... there's much more complexity to it, however, the way it affected me was simple and funny.

One day I was walking on the soft and mudy sands of Puerto Cisnes' bay thinking that it would be a great idea to spend the day there, doing nothing. The other day I had got a break from my part-time job and I thought - It's today!

There I went. I've gathered some fruits, my camera and something to lay on. Plan was to do nothing but enjoy myself by the water of my newly discovered little place. Guess what? Nature had other plans. I got to the beach and 'where the heck is the beach? It's gone!'. Even the sun had left me hanging, you bastard!

I'm glad I haven't gone there and fell asleep, just to discover later that I'm floating in the middle of the Pacific. Uff!

Funny Tides


Puerto Cisnes' Bay - Chile.
Puerto Cisnes' Bay. Click image to enlarge!
Puerto Cisnes' Bay - Chile.
Let's enjoy the beeeea... Noup! Click image to enlarge!

Do you like to observe the tides? Do you have such tide difference near you? Comment down below, I'd love to hear from you.

I hope you've enjoyed this small story. If you liked it, consider giving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broken backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

5 LATEST RELATED POSTS:

The Old Calafate tale | Patagonia | Argentina

Photo Series #64: Finding Balance | What is balance in life?

Travel Story: Hitchhiking to Perito Moreno Glacier & Washing Clothes on a River

[Blog #9] Cyclists Are Masochists | Training Into Headwind & A Bit About My City

Monday Morning Quote: "Difficulties are just things to overcome, after all."

A proud member of:

Sort:  

I do like seeing tides :-)
Quite a big tide changes here 🌊

I can only imagine! navigation up there is also quite hard, too close to the magnetic north and the real north.

Congratulations! Your image was just posted as a winning one for the daily 7 World's Continent Photo Challenge. See if you can attend the post and answer some of the congratulation comments for your increased engagement. Thank you and have a great day. Tomas

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – South American Saturday week #33 – winner announcement!

UUUUuuuuuuuuwahaaaaaat? hahahah I was totally not expecting that, thank you so much @czechglobalhosts! That is a gigantic boost in my motivations.

I'll make sure to keep my eyes on all the comments.

Have you been through Coyhaique yet? If not, be sure to visit Cafe Peregrino. You’ll see my brothers working there and one of them will make you the best coffee drinks in Chile. Of course I’m unbiased 😁

hey @homespun, thanks for passing by!

I've been through Coyhaique, however I've stayed in El Blanco, where I have some friends. Unfortunately I haven't visited Cafe Peregrino, how cool that you have family there, lovely place. I'll ask my chilean friends about it to see if you are unbiased or not hahahaha

Haha sorry that nature tricked you! No tides apparent to the eye here in the Mediterrenean since it's so far from the ocean. They are very drastic in SE Asia and Australia/NZ and I have always enjoyed waiting for them. I love the surprises that the tides bring: rippled sand, shells, stones, new territory that often times allows you to cross from one place to another.

Heyho Flo, thanks for passing by!

Exactly!! It feels like a completely new place. Not to mention when the tide bring some cool objects like buoys and strange sea shells.

If I'm not mistaken there's a castle somewhere in this world where the passage is only open on low tide. Isn't that clever?

A great idea to capture the same place at different tidal levels! Where has the small boat gone? 🙂

Unfortunately, in the landlocked country of mine, tidal differences of the lakes are really marginal. The water levels rather change when rainstorms happened recently. If so, it's also fun to observe the difference.

Heeey @lakesnmountains, god it's hard to type your name, by brain always wants to type AND mountains hahahaha

Yeah, lakes without connection to the sea don't quite vary, it's more dependant of rain I guess. The whole tide subject is complex, I've tried studying it for the sailing exams.

Hehe, originally I intended to write my alias with an "and", but it just didn't work with Steemit's username character limitation, so I shortened it. 🙃

I didn't know you made the sailing exams. Maybe we'll see a sailing blog report from you soon?

There is no sea nearby where i live. there used to be a river river, which is dry now. Our alternative for sand in the beach is sand in the desert... :)

Heeeey @sina-adventure

The river has dried? really? how? What's the name, I'd love to research it.

Sand deserts are soo cool; hot during the day, freezing cold during night. We are never prepared hahaha

It is (was) called zayandehrood. It still exist but because of the dams and decreases in water supplies, it dosen't reach Isfahan (and som other cities).

So the 'dryness'basically exist because of the dams?I'll search it as I'm truly curious.

No, not just the dam. I haven't searched much, but in the last decade there was not enough rain like before. And our agriculture is not yet optimized, so it consumes much of the water, (about more than 90% of the Iran's water). In past few years they used to open it for a short periods during the year, but this year they haven't done it. (At least not yet). Also this river is located in centeral Iran, wich is mostly arid, so it is supporting other cities in central Iran as well (such as Yazd).

Uhum, got it. I get curious because here in Brazil there are loads of discussion on river managment on the north regions, where climate is very arid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29