Quick Trip Update: Olomouc to Brno - Tough progress when rain comes!

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Hoooooorray readers! This will be a quick series to update during the cycling - Progress has been made!


Current Position: Bratislava in Slovakia.

Over hills and peaks, muddy roads, beautiful landscapes and apples by the road; but also below unstoppable rain and snowy forests. Nature is trying so hard to put me down, but I'm still alive and going and working as hard as I can to bring content from this crazy adventure on the European winter.

The updates are late and disconnected, mostly because I've been dealing with battery problems while trying to concentrate on keeping a competitive pace on the bicycle, even when the weather conditions are not great.

On the last quick report we made it do Czech Republic, a place which brough a ton of joy and excitment to the trip; it was where I saw the first bits of snow and camped in negative temperatures. On the last report I was also sitting on a nice and cozy sofa in Olomouc, where unfortunatelly I had to leave and go back into my wilderness life. This balance between wilderness and city life is important to make us remember the value of simple things such as services. Remember how easy it is to turn on the faucet and take a hot shower?

The report you are going to see is from the EuroVelo 9 between Olomouc and Brno in Czech Republic

thunmb.jpg


Free Apples

Cycling can be though when the Gods decide to unleash all the power upon your poor soul, however sometimes they send gifts to be appreciated as a one time opportunity when you find yourself by some road in the middle of Europe during the Winter. Apples! Look!!!!! So many of them - I said to myself. I absolutely had to cool down the pace and stop to enjoy sweet, fresh and sexy apples.

DSC_5641.jpg

Click image to enlarge!


Hills and Peaks

Progress on those rural roads was sometimes tiring, the ups and downs, gear shifts and sometimes amazing landscapes just force you to stop just to take pictures. The few hours of sunlight pass by so fast making the whole experience a bit frustrating. Is this a trip to photograph? Or is it becoming a self challenge to keep on going? The answear I don't know, but some places just deserve to be photographed, even when it costs precious day time and body performance.

DSC_5733.jpg

DSC_5734.jpg

Click image to enlarge!


The First Snow

It was just a matter of time until the first snow appeared, and I admittedly was hoping for it; call it masochism, I call it feeling alive. There's something on a snowy forest that just attracts me, it's peaceful and relaxing somehow. For some, the cold is bitter, for me its energy. That's what I saw after an excruciating uphill on a muddy road inside a forest; a hill top with bits of snow. Snow! It's snoooow! This is where I want to camp. - I said.

DSC_5740.jpg

DSC_5748.jpg

Click image to enlarge!


Back to the City Crazyness

The contrast between living a few days on rural roads and the city is somehow interesting. Even though I prefer nature, I have to admire street art and the way we express life in between 'forests' of concrete buildings.

Arrival ir Brno, the second largest city in Czech Republic, was just not easy. It had been raining since the night I set a wild camp on the snowy forest near a small river. Rain and cycling can not be avoided, especially when you are running away from the northern winter; gotta gear up and just go.

That day was not easy, the uphills were not sutile and the rain was not giving a break. Combine all that with the electronics failing and dying and malfunctioning, to have a complete lack of motivation for doing anything besides cycling as fast as possible to get to the city. I don't have pictures of Brno, mostly because the weather was awful and because I wanted to get out of that messy rain.

Only this one, when I was protecting myself from getting more wet below a bridge.

DSC_5756.jpg

Click image to enlarge!


From Brno down to Austria the content creation got lesser and lesser due to the constant rain. Cycling on those conditions just require a full attention to keep on going, or else the body cools down making you freeze to death. On top of that, you end up consuming energy in double; some goes to cycling, some goes to keeping the body warm.

Due to the harsh circunstances you won't see an update about the trip from Brno to Viena, but don't worry! The adventure will keep on going as soon as the weather gives a break and we are able to restart in Austria or Slovakia, let's see where the route takes us. I also have a bunch of videos coming out about the beautiful cities on the countries I have already passed. Stay tuned!

Come with me ladies and gentleman! Are you enjoying?

If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

[Blog #46] Revisiting Kraków | Thoughts | Photography

[vlog #22] Bike Vlog in Oświęcim | Helping Strangers | Union

Quick Trip Update: We made it to Czech Republic!

Quick Trip Update: Enjoying Salame Somewhere in Poland

[vlog #21] Bike Tour Poland | Apocalyptic Camping | Still Alive

CO-FOUNDER AND CURATOR ON:

A PROUD MEMBER OF:

Sort:  

So exciting to follow your European adventure my friend! I am so sorry my homeland did not welcome you with some better weather :( November is very unpredictable month - it can be still sunny and relatively warm sometimes but you just experienced the dark side of it :( Hopefully you will have better luck further south! Stay safe and strong Arthur!

But each country will have its challenges hahaha, here in Austria I was welcomed with a ton of snow. Btw I would totally go back to Czech Republic to live in Olomouc for more time.

Despite the bad weather, great photos.
On the battery thing, isnt there anything that will recharge your battery as you cycle? Plenty of power when you're cyclying all day

Weeehee thanks for the compliment!! Yes, there are battery packs and even a bicycle dynamo; I was a bit unprepared on that matter. But still, mostly of my lack of material is due to bad weather.

Dear @mrprofessor,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Hooray, your story is now listed in our project publication, you can check through our progressive report either from our @fundition project page or @archisteem account. We will be sorting out the seasonal shortlist authors and make an announcement soon for the seasonal reward.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Woho, awesome!

Thanks @mrprofessor! Steem on :)

Hi @mrprofessor!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.011 which ranks you at #3587 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 18 places in the last three days (old rank 3605).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 271 contributions, your post is ranked at #121.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You're the man! I've never done touring in winter but I have all the appreciation for those who do. Must be even more difficult for you coming from Brazil. Love your post, both pictures and text. Stay safe and warm!

There's still time to join me! Ahah, btw you inspired me to the EuroVelo, maybe we'll cycle together on one of them? As long as it doesn't rain it's pretty cozy inside a winter sleeping bag.

Thanks for passing by and good cycles for ya!

I'm more of a nice weather cyclist, I don't have winter tyres on my bike :) Glad to hear you found inspiration in my posts, motivates me to continue. Now that you discovered EuroVelo I'm sure you'll come back for more in the summer time. Thanks for sharing EuroVelo 9 with us. May the force be with you mrprofessor!

Wooooo yeahh I'll be back! Maybe going north, would you join?

In my case is a bit more complicated with timing, family, etc. Usually I get 1 week for my hobby but now my son is 5 and I was thinking to introduce him and my wife to EuroVelo, at least this was the initial plan for this year which later changed. Will have to see how things will play out in 2019.

Well, the best wishes for the new year, and that you can take the family on the Velo. Just don't during the winter hahahaha

Whop whop! Are you following a specific route? You mentioned velo 9? This is exciting! And you make it a great content to read!

Loving your comments, they give me a ton of energy to keep on working! So, yeah, I started on Velo 4, then switched to Euro 9, then I did a bit on my own as a short cut, and now I'll continue on the 9 until Italy, when I'll switch again to the Euro 8.

There are so many!!!! I want them all!!

Amazing. Don't have much time to it to the videos at the moment but it is great to read the text and see your great photos. I am really glad you stop to take them they are really cool when you're doing a really good job of the photos as well. What is your charging setup? I guess even if it was solar charge there's not a lot of sunshine at the moment no? I worry that you are keeping warm enough and you have enough kit for that. Looks like you are having a good time though and I am very jealous. I would rather do it in the Land Rover with full heating though thanks very much haha. Xx

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh you know pretty well I'd also do it in a Land Rover hahhaha. So, I don't actually have a charging rig, I try to charge it whenever I can, it's tricky and a pain in the behind. Also the cold temperature makes the batteries last less than normal, it's annoying.

As long as it doesn't get past -5/-6 I should be warm, but temperatures here are super nice and cozy. Thanks a bunch for taking the time!We'll need a call to talk more.

Glad to hear you're alive and well @mrprofessor! Can't believe how much you've travelled over the last few weeks (while I've just been back and forth to work).

Keep up the posts and videos - always good to read and watch them!

Your travel time is comming!! Just gotta wait a little more and who knows if I won't go to Asia as well. Europe is expeeeeeeeeeeeeeensive!!1

Hello @mrprofessor, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Brilliant! Thank you very much for the lovely suport!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86