Travel health insurance matters

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Eat, Drink & Be Thankful.jpg

This week we learnt yet again the importance of medical insurance and really understanding your policy when travelling.


We were so tied up in our eldest sons world with his recent diagnosis of bipolar and long road trips from Siem Reap to Phnom Penh, Cambodia to see my sons psychiatrist, my husband kept putting off getting his persistent stomach pains seen by a doctor.

My husband is the type of guy that would lose an arm and try to staple gun it back together himself. Well, that was until he woke up on Tuesday morning and groaned wincing, “I feel like something has exploded inside. I am in agony!”

Initially, I had thought he had the same acute stomach infection that had landed me in the hospital for 3 days myself only last month. I was admitted into the Royal Angkor hospital Siem Reap, Cambodia. It was horrible stomach cramping, nausea and the usual ailments, but nothing serious and the hospital provided wonderful care and my own private room. Thankfully my $2600 medical bill was covered by insurance.

Our eldest son had also had two visits to the hospital the month prior. His first visit, appendicitis. He had emergency surgery and a 4-day hospital stay also at the Angkor Royal and outpatient treatment. Costs again covered by insurance $3450.

My sons' second visit to the hospital was a completely different story. We had rushed him to the hospital as he had taken an OD of valium in a suicide attempt. He had his stomach pumped, and received emergency treatment and time in the ICU. He spent 4 days in the hospital. As we thanked the heavens our son was alive, we also were thankful we had insurance. We were aware of the past experience of how expensive medical treatment is…..

That was until the clerk came to inform us our insurance company said our policy didn’t cover self-harm and asked if we would like to pay cash or card. I would have found and paid a million dollars to receive that treatment for my son. But I am not going to lie, that bill really put a huge dent in our family of 7 finances.

As we looked at further mental health treatment for my son as we believed he had an underlying issue, I contacted the insurance company for pre-approval to take my son to the capital city of Cambodia to see one of the only few psychiatrists in the country. My policy states that he can claim up to $5000 in mental health treatments but our case was denied due to his suicide attempt. The insurance company believes his attempted suicide makes his mental health claim a pre-existing condition and you cannot claim on any pre-existing condition.

Although I believe a suicide attempt is in no way a pre-existing condition. With our world being shaken, I choose to let that fight go with the insurance company. You only have so much energy and I wanted that all focused on emotionally supporting my family.

Subsequently, all my sons mental health treatments we have received have been paid out of pocket by us. We also travel 6 hours to visit his psychiatrist each way, each visit. But like I said, I would find and pay a million dollars if I had to. My son is worth every single cent and even more.

Back to my husband last week. He awoke in agony and declared he needed to go to the hospital. I had had so much time absent from work in the past few months which was beyond my control and thankfully I am blessed with wonderful supportive employers at my school where I teach. “Go to work. I will be fine. I’ll message you when I know what is going on.” I felt terrible leaving my husband in the tuk-tuk and leaving for work.

I received a message from Philippe that his appendix had ruptured and he was getting ready to have emergency surgery. Again I race to my school director requesting permission to leave and raced 40 minutes from the village to the hospital.

Now, if you're a member of our family you know it’s one in, all ini! That includes hospital stays. Each and every time a member of our family is sick and in the hospital. All seven of our family members don’t leave their bedside. Not because we have to but because we all want too! And dad’s hospital visit wasn’t any different. Lucky for us the rooms are very large, around the size of a large hotel room. So there is room for us to all spread out on the floor.
31670608_10156302567760480_8982472569672171520_n.jpg
31649353_10156302567820480_8343822288650502144_n.jpg

After a successful operation, treatment of infection at the Angkor Royal hospital, including a 4-day stay, meals and a private room, take home meds and follow-up outpatient treatments, my husband's medical bill came to $4591 US. Thankfully being covered by insurance this time. we got home two days ago and he his feeling super! Even making me breakfast in bed today.

Amazingly, for the first 2 years, we lived in Cambodia my family never had health insurance and when I think of it I cringe and again think just how lucky and thankful I am that nothing happened. I have learnt first-hand medical bills can quickly add up and as I sit and calculate all our bills and ongoing incoming medical bills, I can see how this can financially destroy anyone without basic coverage.

We have stretched our finances to cover my sons' medical expenses not covered by insurance. Imagine if we had no insurance. We would be in a completely different situation and certainly not be able to afford the medical bills that have come streaming in the last 3 months.

As my current policy is ending I will be looking into health insurance plans that may also cover mental health treatment or have it an option to add to a policy.

I urge you too when looking for health insurance to fully understand what you are covered for. Maybe even consider looking at plans that cover mental health treatment. Even though you may not have a pre-existing mental health condition, sometimes mental health issues can strike out of nowhere. Just like my sons did.

After many years of being blessed with a healthy family, I hope these little bumps in the road we have had for the last few months even out and it’s all smooth sailing ahead.


Remember, you never know what lies ahead, but you can try to prepare for the worst. Health insurance matters.

blog footer steemit.png

Want to check out some of my usual posts of our Cambodian adventures? Check out some of my other posts:

https://steemit.com/bipolar/@mumma-monza/when-your-child-has-bipolar
https://busy.org/@mumma-monza/haircuts-in-cambodia-what-will-i-do
https://steemit.com/cambodia/@mumma-monza/ice-skate-in-cambodia-escape-the-heat
https://steemit.com/travelphotography/@mumma-monza/epic-water-fight-siem-reap-cambodia
https://steemit.com/cambodia/@mumma-monza/school-turned-prison-cambodia
https://steemit.com/travel/@mumma-monza/kids-eat-scorpion-siem-reap-cambodia-leaving-mixed-reviews
https://steemit.com/expat/@mumma-monza/cambodia-ranked-4-top-destinations-for-expats


Proud mum and member of the @Steemmamas discord group. the coolest hangout for Steem mama's #fact.
steemamas.png

Help me help you earn a passive income:


Mannabase
https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=a23dc231d8
manna-banner-new.jpg

It works! Earn bitcoin with Cryptotab.
https://getcryptotab.com/74053
cryptoyab.jpg

I would also love to hear about other passive income streams. So drop your tips and hints and ideas below.

Vote @adsactly for witness - open: https://steemit.com/~witnesses
In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign
Or give us a direct vote here
Thank you!
PIN-IT-FInal-.jpg
469d4aea-0aaa-4b89-919e-0fd853b6f0f0-5c11957b-cb69-432a-9bff-9d76967bd0b3-v1 (1).png

Sort:  

Wow, a rough few weeks. I wish your husband a speedy recovery and hope your son gets all the professional help he needs. Best wishes to you all.

Thanks @positiveninja. It all hit us out of nowhere. We had a relatively boring life before. onwards and upwards.

Maybe it sounds crazy, but I think these challenges happen to us for a reason as well.

Wow, I can't believe they said that the suicide indicated a pre-existing condition! That is pretty insane! I am glad your husband was okay but a ruptured appendix is scary!! I'm glad he was able to get it taken care of. It is a good thing to have insurance. We have a share plan back in the states that covers us here in Panama as well. We pay up to a certain point and then send in for reimbursement from other families who also pay into the plan. It has worked for us in the states and thankfully we haven't needed it here. I'm glad you guys have something as it is a lot of money out of pocket!

I cannot believe it either! Hopefully, we will never have to use insurance again. Philippe did scare the pants out of me. He has never complained of pain like he did. Thanks for your well wishes.

This post has received a 3.45 % upvote from @boomerang.

Hugs, @mumma-momza. Such a huge ordeal you went though one after another. First your son, then your husband's and the family's finance is deeply affected. I would like to send you a little love gift. Check your wallet 💝💝Just a little support from one mom to another. Bad luck ends here and wholesomeness for your family!

Omigoodness!! I don't know what to say @happycrazycon. Your kindness has absolutely blown me away. Thank you just doesn't seem enough, but thank you xo

Thanks guys, feeling much better.
Couch and PS4 is the perfect medicine... I'm going to milk this for as long as I can.

bitmoji-20180507121505.png

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

I recognize a lot in how your husband thinks... the weird thing is I also have the experience as soon as you have all kind of insurances it seems to attract a sorth of bad luck. How or what will be payed depends on the insurance so.it is better to have a closer look at that and decide whatto do. It is also possible to save a certain amount for healthcare by yourself. It might be way cheaper in the end/through the years. I hope you all will stay healthy.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39