My First Mountain Climbing Experience

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Every stop over is a milestone, and a hope that I can conquer the peak.

To experience mountain climbing is always a part of my bucket list. I watched documentaries, and read blogs about other people's mountain climbing experiences, and I could feel a different fulfillment from them upon reaching the summit. And I told myself, I would definitely make my mountain climbing bucket list a reality.

I did not slip the opportunity of joining my co-workers, like me, who are also in love with nature and who want to experience reaching the mountain top. The team organized a mountain climbing activity and an overnight stay at the peak.

We planned to conquer Mt. Naupa in Naga, Cebu. The mountain is good for beginners.

Going To Mt. Naupa:

From Cebu City South Bus Terminal, you can take a bus (fare is Php 60, more or less 1.2 USD). Or you can take a jeepney from Pardo (fare is Php 20, more or less 0.4 USD). The drop-off point is at Barangay Tungkop. The travel time going to Barangay Tungkop is more or less 1 hour (depending on traffic).

From Barangay Tungkop, ride a motorcycle going to Cogon Chapel. Fare for the motorcycle is Php 50 (more or less 1 USD). The Cogon Chapel is your starting point for the trekking.

Going to the mountain peak is more or less 1 hour.

Though Mt. Naupa is for beginners, going to the mountain top was not that easy. It was not easy because we have to pass through narrow ways, and steep slopes. We have to endure all these to see the beautiful sunset and sunrise the following day.

My heart was overjoyed upon reaching the peak. A different beauty of nature welcomed us at the peak.

Reflection:

Reaching the mountain top gave me a one-of-a-kind fulfillment. It was an achievement for me to be able to reach Mt. Naupa's summit.

More than reaching the top, I was also able to reflect some life lessons while trekking.

In life, we experience a lot of challenges. Sometimes, our challenges are so heavy that we think we could not bear them. But, God does not give us trials that we can’t handle. Our trials are also temporary. All we need to do is to endure all life's challenges and not give up for there is a greater reward waiting for us.

Sort:  

This post is sponsored and featured by @Appreciator in collaboration with @c-squared. Just keep up the good work.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=naojakyl
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-first-mountain-climbing-experience


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

It looks like you had a great time, @naojakyl. I think I need to get more into the outdoors, and particularly hiking up a mountain after reading this. :)

I can think of a couple of times I've made such a trek. One was recently. The trail wasn't very long, maybe a mile at most, but it was uphill and I had to stop a few times to catch my breath. Being in better shape would help.

The other was nearly two years ago, on a muddy trail in Hawaii. My wife and I were trying to get to some falls that we never found. I'm not sure how far we went, but it seemed like a few miles before we decided to turn around because it was getting dark and threatening to rain!

I do have to say, though, I've climbed some large pyramids in Mexico four or five times. Does that count? Of course, I was much younger and in better shape then. That was fun, though.

Okay, I guess it's high time I got back into some hiking. Just as soon as the rain stops, and I do about three thousand sit ups. :)

Yeah,I had a great time! Mountain climbing gives me a different sense of fulfillment. The trek was difficult but when I reached the peak, I felt so happy. Yes, you should go back hiking. Nature has something that gives us a different source of energy. Share us your experience after. :)

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #457.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Congratulations @naojakyl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post has been voted on by @acropolis travels and culture in collaboration with the project @templo.

videotogif_2019.02.15_20.29.34.gif


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34