San Remigio - The Longest Shoreline in Cebu. Welcome To My Hometown!

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

It is true, there's no place like home. I have been to a number of places but my feet will always lead me back home. My hometown is not among those luxurious places, but there's something about it that attaches my heart.

San Remigio or shall I say the municipality of San Remigio is more or less 110 km away from the city, a three-hour drive from Cebu city. But sometimes, it will take four or five hours because of the traffic! If you don’t have your own vehicle, you may take a bus ride from the North Bus Terminal. The fare is Php 140 (more or less 2.8 USD).

Life in my hometown is simple. Majority of the people rely on farmlands and fishing. Corns, sugar canes, root crops, green vegetables, mango trees, bananas, coconuts, are the most common in the town. People also make use of their vacant spaces at home to plant vegetables and when it’s about time, they can simply go to their yards and harvest them and get them ready for eating! And in our case, it is my mother who is so diligent in planting various vegetables. The fruit of her labor is always sweet and delicious!

In addition, we also depend on gifts from the sea. People live and survive with seafood. I remember when I was young, we used to wake up early in the morning and go to the shore, and get some seashells, sea urchins, and sea cucumbers, and cook them for breakfast and lunch, too!

San Remigio is rich in marine life. In fact, it has marine sanctuaries that are open for beginner and experienced divers. This is one of the things that I have yet to experience in my hometown. Another thing to add in my bucket list. :)

Above all, my hometown is well known for its long stretches of white sand beaches and clear water. Hence, the town is tagged as having the longest shoreline in Cebu. One of my favorite things to do when I'm in my hometown is to just stroll along the shore, feel the fine sand, and relax with the sea breeze.

I can't wait to be back home, to enjoy the sand and the beach, to eat fresh foods, and most of all to laugh and to spend time with my family and other loved ones.

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=naojakyl
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=san-remigio-the-longest-shoreline-in-cebu-welcome-to-my-hometown


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in today's Travel Digest #483

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00