Volcan Calbuco - Eruption - Patagonia - Part 5

in #travel6 years ago

I've been posting some photos of my old home in Patagonia, Chile. I have recently moved my family back to the States, from living there for 4 years. I just recently returned from a trip to Chile, tying up lose ends and visiting dear friends.

The day after I arrived back home to North Idaho was the 3rd anniversary of the eruption of Volcan Calbuco occurred on April 23rd.

calbuco-erupt-12542-pic.jpg

This photo was taken from my back yard, a little over three years ago now.

Opera Snapshot_2018-04-22_061631_www.google.com.png

Volcan Calbuco is located on the edge of Lago Llanguihue (Chile's 2nd largest lake). It's a gorgeous drive from Puerto Varas, approximately 40 minutes. The nearest sizeable airport is PMC, Puerto Montt.

If anyone would like to know more about traveling in Patagonia, please ask in the comments

Opera Snapshot_2018-04-22_061800_www.google.com.png

Please don't forget to hit those Follow and Upvote buttons

Sort:  

Wow, that volcano erupted! As you may have heard I was in Puerto Varas last month too, but our travel dates did not match. I ended up cutting my time short and heading to Santiago for the warm weather and 15 dollar a night airbnb.

I loved the town of Puerto Varas it was just breaking my budget and I was not prepared for such cold weather. At lease I got to see where you guys spent so much time. Very beautiful and peaceful part of the country. Angelmo, and all that incredible high quality seafood, wow what luxury to have that in your back yard as well as so much more.

Glad you made it there and back safely. I too am now with my family in Tampa Bay Florida. Always a warm climate for me, now on ;).....just what I'm used to I guess. Send my best to the lovely Gringa, UglySweater, and rigaronib. Have a great day. -Dan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76