I'm leaving.... (for China)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

There are many posts on steem about how to be successfull and get a lot of followers and all that. Often talking about keeping to your core, writing about a certain type of content, etc.

BLAHBLAHBLAHDIBLAH.

Let's stop writing about how to be successful. How to get followers.
It's like being back in high school, and all the cool kids talking about how cool they are.
Which was in itself one of the main reasons I never wanted to be one of them.

So yeah. I've been posting a lot on my account here. Building a reputation, getting more and more spammy followers.

But I'll leave...

No really, I'm leaving. For China. In a few days.

I have no idea if I'll have a lot of time to spend on Steem while I'm there. Because, other things might be more important for me. Like travelling around. Like ordering tofu soup and wondering what kind intestines I'm actually getting served. Like smelling durian on the way to the office. Like getting stared at by everyone. Like taking pictures of dead cats without eyes. Like tasting interesting flavors (oh, I do miss real Chinese food!) Like working at the university there (I'm a post-doc at Fudan University). Like not learning Chinese. Like writing short stories that perhaps one day be published somewhere, and perhaps I'll hoard them until they fill a whole book. Like doing ANYTHING else actually.

[This is just me denying I'm addicted to posting on steem. But that's okay, right? Please, tell me everything will be okay!]

So, just letting you know. That there is more than steemit.
And sure, I'll try to update you about things I do there, experiences, thoughts, randomness.

Leaving for China.jpg

Image by @nobyeni, taken in China in 2016. I'm aiming to get more of this kind of great shots during the coming visit.

Sort:  

Sweet—another person to join my random tag play. I'm looking forward to the coming "random china" tag and photos.

Yes! Although ... is anything ever really random?

hah ever the philosopher.

Ow, I just now realised there is really this randomkorea, randomjapan tag-thing going on! I've been reading your 'random Japan' for a while now, but didn't think it extended beyond that. Will be nice to start a 'randomchina' tag yes, haha. Thanks for the idea!

Yep :) I've managed to recruit a number of other expats here in Japan, and a few others in other places in asia as well. I'm trying to get @aksounder to do a randomalaska too. I really should do a post about this randomCOUNTRY idea

Haha, I love your list of things that will be more important to you in China than Steemit. Intestines and eye-less dead cats. Alrighty then! Certainly sounds... interesting. 😁

Well. This list is based solely on experiences from last time around. They are not a guarantee for the future. Especially seeing that dead cat I'd gladly skip this time.

Lol you made me laugh with this post :) Have a good time there, and we'll see you when you can't ignore being hooked on Steemit anymore ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34