Don’t Miss This Pit Stop Between Hoi An And Da Nang

in #travel6 years ago

If I wasn’t googling “caves near Da Nang” out of disappointment at finding out I couldn’t go to the “Hang Song Doon” cave, then I would have completely missed out on the Marble Mountains.

Lucky for you, you’re reading this and won’t miss out on them, either!

Did you know that Hang Song Doon is the world’s largest only cave with a beach AND a jungle inside?


(from dailyexpress.com)

Yeah, it’s in Vietnam but only a few hundred people can go a year and you have to go through lots of hoops to be one of the phew. And the tour is $3,000 per person and there is only one company in all of Vietnam legally certified to take you.

I didn’t find this out until last minute, so unfortunately, I didn’t get to go to my dream cave.

But I DID get to go to the Marble Mountains.

Not as exciting, but also not as deadly, so hey! That’s a win!

See? The top circle is where I was living in Da Nang, and the 2nd circle is Hoi An area. Marble Mountains are on the way!

You can basically drive down the coast the entire way on a motorbike. There’s not a lot of traffic, so it’s an easy drive if you’re thinking about going to Hoi An!

I honestly thought it was going to be a quick pit stop to see a couple of small caves within the mountains.

Turns out, there were a lot of unexpected things to see there (mostly because I am semi-allergic to doing research)!

It took me at least 2 hours to get through it, but could have easily been 3 if I wasn’t rushing to get to Hoi An.

Entry fee is about $1.80 (40k)

Here are some of the things you can see at Marble Mountain:

See the "tiles?" All of the temples have these tiles made out of broken tea cups/plates.

There's even broken "fine china" on this lion's toes!

Look closer!

Notice it says "fine china?" Shouldn't it be "fine vietnam" since we're in Vietnam?

It's definitely worth checking out if you're in the area!

Sort:  

What a find. Pretty funny on allergic to research. Im more allergic to not bein prepared.

Haha that's a valid thing to be allergic to!

come to son tay , ha noi. i will be a guide for you

aw that's awesome of you! I wish I had known when I was in Hanoi!

Aw that's awesome of
You! I wish I had known when
I was in Hanoi!

                 - nomadicsoul


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

lol I'm a poet and I didn't even know it!

One day you come back to hanoi contact me.

I would love to take some nice photos over there, the sceneries are great!

I bet you have some pretty ones in Malaysia also!

Yes we have, mostly at East Malaysia - Sabah and Sarawak!

So cool! You get to do all the fun stuff :)

You find lots of gold and have LOTS of future bands you're going to be in. That's pretty fun, too!

Oh Mehn... There are places and there are places... Wow
Some art works so sweet... Some so scary
Sure you had huge fun

Some do look kind of scary, don't they? I was saying that about some of the costumes I saw dancers wore in Indonesia...but that's for another day!

Tell me how it is! I'd like to see your post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89