Next Time You Make Pizza... Ditch The Crust & Try This Instead!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Grilled pizza anyone? It's gluten-free, if you're into that sort of thing!

I felt a little bad about ditching the pizza crust. I should have called first and given it a proper warning first that I was about to say goodbye, but I was blindsided.

It all happened so fast.

I was walking down the street one day, deep in thought, and BAM.

This amazing smell smacked me in the face and stopped me dead in my tracks.

I looked to find the source of this amazing smell and it was none other than the amazing " Vietnamese street pizza lady" as I so creatively nicknamed her:

Let's get a closer look at what she was making, mkay? (I'll give you a hint: it's street pizza)

Now, you're probably used to well-raised pizza. The kind that has a proper home. A roof over it's head. A cozy oven to bake in.

You've probably never gone to the other side of the tracks where the street pizza hangs out. No roof, no cozy oven. Just street pizza living the pizza thug life.

I hadn't spent time with street pizza, either. But oh man.
I never thought giving up pizza crust could be so good.

I may never mingle with well-crusted pizza again.

Ok, that's a lie. I'm totally going to eat regular pizza AND street pizza.

Thankfully food relationships aren't monogomous, because I'd cry a little.

Anyway, this bad boy is called Banh Trang Nuong (Vietnamese Street Pizza)!

Instead of using crust, it's made with rice paper (which I use all the time for things back in the states...but I never knew you could just straight up grill it)!

You can find rice paper at pretty much any grocery store, so if you want to try this, lemme know. It's a quick meal and I can't wait to get home to try it with stereotypical pizza ingredients and see how it tastes.

Then, they put all THESE yummy things inside:

Quail eggs, green onions, butter, cheese, crispy seafood/ chicken/ sausage.

It's 20k for one pizza, so about .90 for one!

I was supposed to go eat something inside this super cool unique place in Ho Chi Minh city, but her pizza smelled so good that I never ate inside. I just ate 2 of her pizzas instead!

See how happy I am? This is me cheating on my first Vietnamese pizza with my second Vietnamese pizza 10 minutes later, which is totally acceptable because food monogamy isn't a thing!!

Sort:  

That is interesting. Glad you found local cruisine you loved and shared.

PTL = PIZZA THUG LIFE

Oh! I'd definitely dig on a rice paper based pizza. This is perfect for gluten free pizza. And I think your's has turned into a calzone based on this selfie of yours haha.

I have never been to Vietnam before. Would love to visit there one day definitely.

So let me get this right, 20K Dong? which is 90 cents usd??

That's affordable for that size. Even Malaysia will not have that for that much ingredients and size.

upvoted

You should try making one!!! Yep, it's about 90 cents USD....goodness I can't remember what that is in Ringgit. 3.60 Ringgit!

Yeah, she flips it over taco-calzone style at the end! My goodness. I may start making these things all the time and switching up the ingredients just for fun!

I definitely like to eat gluten-free when possible. Oh my goodness, how are you on the eating front? Can you have good food again? I hope so!

Yum, rice paper pizza sounds really good actually!!!

The crunchiness is what gets ya!!

The crunchiness?!?! And all these years I thought it was the rhythm that was gonna get me eventually...

Street food always feels like the biggest win when you stumble upon something amazing! When I lived overseas I always looked forward to walking out of the bar at night and letting my nose guide me to the nearest street delicacy.

YES! Oh man. Some of the most memorable food I eat is from the streets lol

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Oh mine... Looks so yummy

As someone who practices low-carb intake, I totally support this and am going to try it out. Thanks!

Let me know how yours turns out! I want to see a post about it :)

hmmm it looks yummy... I wanna try this.. Would you like to share? :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-09T15:06:24
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 363.31/400.00
Total Photos: 43
Total comments: 72
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 2.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82