Hanging Out in Ludlow, Shropshire

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Whenever we visit the UK we often drive down to Ludlow to visit Amanda's lifelong friend. It is a gorgeous little town with a beautiful countryside.

nknnabk6fs.jpg

The population seems to be quite the homogeneous group. So much so that we were surprised to see so many people with the exact same haircut with the same exact color. Fashion as well!

rddfmvpbxb.jpg
A view of Ludlow Castle

In a way, it's like the Kentucky of England, but without all the evangelicals.

We always end up going down and walking around the castle when we visit. Our friend's kids, like many children that I meet seem to love to climb on me. This visit was no different in that regard!

v557atq6fu.jpg

Of course there is plenty of green there to explore. I love it! It's much different than life here in Los Angeles.

929xd5x3n2.jpg

8lb4gsieyw.jpg

One of my favorite spots in town is this particular bridge. I love to just sit there and watch the water go by.

9fwqxsc24a.jpg

There is just something really nice about the oldness of the structures. I really wish we had more of it here in the United States.

78xsooxrlp.jpg

That cannon lives down near the castle. I can't remember if it has any particular significance. I probably should read the plaque (if there is one). I can be a bit unobservant sometimes.

d3znwinvt4.gif

There's an image of our friend's daughter attempting to blow the seeds from a dandelion. Quite unsuccessfully I might add.

zpg8fpvi1d.jpg

There are quite a few really old, beautiful buildings around town.

6rcgyq8igd.jpg

I sure that as locals, they are quite bored of them, but our friends still take us to have a look around.

4uk3omfyi9.jpg

Those buildings remind me of the ones from Shakespeare's birthplace. I am always surprised that these types of houses can last for so long.

It's very different from the ones that are built in the 20th century, which seem to last for no time at all!

Sort:  

Awesome post bro :) happy to hear that you had a good time! It’s nice here in the uk, lots of history and peaceful countryside. It does get very busy in certain places, and some roads are overpopulated but hey is what it is!

Im from southern England in Wiltshire, which has some lovely parts (Stonehenge being one) I also like the south west! North England is very beautiful i would consider moving up north!

However, as I have lived here so long I would LOVE to live in California!:)

Thanks! Yeah, I have experienced quite a lot of England and the various levels of population. There is an amazing variety in such a small country. Accents as well. It never ceases to amaze me how many different accents there are. I've spent most of my time in Suffolk where I've lived for several stints of 6 months.

I've been to Stonehenge a couple of times! It was pretty fun. We've spent a good amount of time in the southwest as well, particularly in Cornwall.

California has it pluses and minuses!

Haha yes dude the accents baffle me too! Driving 3 - 4 hours up north and I can hardly understand anyone 😂

Cornwall is vey beautiful, especially in the summer!:)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I live in a historical area, but I don't think I ever get bored of enjoying it and showing it to visitors. Hopefully those locals don't either. That bridge would probably be my favorite spot in town too.

Some people have the sort of face that says "attack me" to children. You have that sort I think :)

How amazing, I know Ludlow very well - I grew up very close to it in Pulverbatch near Shrewsbury, and still have relatives in Minsterly. It is a very beautiful town, as we can tell from your stunning photos and it looks like you had great weather at the time as well.

Thank you very much for the Witness Vote, I really appreciate it and put a great deal of effort into curating content and supporting communities throughout the Steem Blockchain.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

I SO love the UK and miss it so much. Their village/countrysides are so damn perfect.

Hi @nuthman!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.557 which ranks you at #6274 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 216 places in the last three days (old rank 6490).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 203 contributions, your post is ranked at #62.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17