Hot Licks: Long Beach, California

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

While my son was in town a couple of weeks back we were wandering around Long Beach trying to find some stuff to do. We came across this little hot sauce shop called Hot Licks.

a23ym2h8ud.jpg

We thought we'd have a look inside to see what they were selling. As expected, it was a shop of nothing but hot sauces.

u5lbe0lint.jpg

Honestly, I would not have even bothered taking pictures or looking around much, but some of the names of the products caught my eye.

2vq251z4bb.jpg

Some of these names are just hilarious. Sphincter Shrinker just takes the cake. We ended up spending a lot longer in the shop than I really wanted to, just reading the labels.

nwb89cg58c.jpg

We were actually just killing some time waiting to go over to the aquarium. I actually felt a bit bad because we spent about 1/2 an hour in there nosing around and giggling at products but never actually bought anything!

7efwdny6ne.jpg

I think this is why I kind of felt obligated to at least write a little post about this place. There were several tourists in there commenting about how good some of the hot sauces are. I think perhaps I will go back another day and pick a few of them up!

9w03hgx72g.jpg

Unfortunately, my stomach isn't the cast iron indestructible beast that it was when I was in my 20s. Sadly I have to stay away from things that are too spicy these days.

r8g6s46jlz.jpg

I mean, don't get me wrong - I can certainly eat them and have an awesome time. However, 20 minutes later I will be suffering the consequences! Just as Dr. Assburn, from the above photo.

Sort:  

colon cleaner is the best name I've ever seen ever !!! LOL

My dear friend @nuthman
In fact, when there is a need to spend time without any meaning, then it is very difficult to spend time. One minute takes about 1 hour. As the time passes, our digestive system becomes weak, due to which we need to avoid spicy things. If you come back from the Aquarium then surely buy a sauce from the Hot Licks shop.
Thank you

Yeah, I miss my old strong stomach, but it is probably for the better that it isn't so tolerant these days. I used to eat a lot more garbage when I was younger.

Lol A really funny name, but unfortunately not everyone can eat hot sauces. As a rule, they are not very good for the stomach.

Hehe, that is true. My stomach certainly complains about them.

I’ve been there before and spent lots of time looking at the labels too.

They had tastings too when I was there. (Or maybe we asked to taste?)

Thanks for sharing and bringing back some fun memories.

Posted using Partiko iOS

They might have had tastings, not sure.. I was too busy laughing at the labels. Hehe...

I will probably go back and buy some as gifts. I only live just across the bridge in San Pedro/Palos Verdes area.

I used to be a connoisseur of hot sauces. This got to the point where it became very easy for my family to procure inexpensive gifts for me. One of them was a ghost pepper extract of sorts an just one drop of that stuff would render a bowl of chili inedible. This was almost certainly meant as a gag but could also be used to kill someone.

Haha, I have had some ghost pepper sauce. That is nothing to mess around with. I worked with a guy at EA Games who had a hot sauce blog called the mullet man. He was a really funny dude. They used to have hot sauce eating contests in the break room to see who could last the longest without taking a drink.

Those could get pretty damn funny!

Love the uniqueness of the shop, I guess they sell some of these sometimes... with the customers commenting and coming back.

I think there is a pretty big market for gifts. There were several people making purchaces while we were there.

For me, I love a good hot sauce, but it has to taste nice and not burn so much that it ruins whatever dish you put it in!

Really funny and interesting names! Thank you for this post!

I had given up on eating very spicy foods now @nuthman because it hurts my inflamed gums, not a good thing.
But LOL on the brand names of those hot sauces he he "Sphincter Shrinker"

Hi @nuthman!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.226 which ranks you at #8436 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 32 places in the last three days (old rank 8468).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 274 contributions, your post is ranked at #86.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87