The Eden Project: Cornwall, UK

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

In 1995, a large hole in the ground left by an aging clay pit in Cornwall was being scoped out by businessman Tim Smit for an adventurous project. Tim previously restored the Lost Gardens of Heligan which I previously posted about. But next, he was on to something even more ambitious.

Between 1995 and 2000, he would plan and prepare the land for a most amazing transformation. The following images are from our journey through the various environments created through his effort. The domes that you see in the images contain distinct environments from around the world.

IMG_5796.jpg

That's correct, each dome contains a completely different environment from a different part of the world. Native plants, animals and even climates are kept to the exacting specifications of their origin country. It is an unbelievable experience walking through a door and coming out the other side as if you had just crossed the globe.

IMG_5799.jpg

IMG_5790.jpg

On arrival, we were loaded up onto some cars that were being pulled by a large tractor.

IMG_5797.jpg

IMG_5792.jpg

We were dropped off at the entrance to gardens which are outside of the domes. There is actually a lot to explore before actually going inside. I'm guessing that these are meant to be European environments, which would make sense since the project is in England. It wouldn't really need to be enclosed to simulate the UK!

IMG_5801.jpg

There is this greenhouse area where you can purchase various plants to take home with you. The English are really into gardening. It is like an Olympic sport. I've never seen so many TV shows about gardening in my life as I saw in England, but I digress.

IMG_5785.jpg

IMG_5787.jpg

Coming near the entrance to the domes, we ran into these creative scarecrows. I love the cardigan on the first one.

IMG_5783.jpg

A really cool thing about the UK are the Allotments. As a citizen, you can apply to get an allotment of land where you can grow your own fruit and veg or whatever. I've even seen people raising chickens on them for eggs. You just have to use them, or you lose them. I really wish that we had something like this in America.

IMG_5773.jpg

IMG_5763.jpg

IMG_5758.jpg

As you can see, you just can't take me anywhere. But wait a minute... Look at all these pastries!

IMG_5757.jpg

This could be dangerous. I really think we should move on. I'm not really sure what I'm doing in the image, but here I am doing it.

IMG_5756.jpg

The vegetables in the garden were some of the most attractive that I've ever seen. I don't know how they keep everything so nice. They have the best gardeners in the world working at this place.

IMG_5755.jpg

So finally on stepping into the first dome, we come across this post apocalyptic thing. Luckily it's eyes are closed. Maybe taking a nap? I won't stick around to find out.

IMG_5750.jpg

Amanda's mum and dad were really enjoying the flowering plants.

IMG_5747.jpg

IMG_5749.jpg

IMG_5746.jpg
What do you think? Am I pretty?

IMG_5745.jpg

I guess I couldn't contain myself. The joy was too overwhelming. So much pink.

IMG_5740.jpg

IMG_5741.jpg

IMG_5738.jpg

It's pretty mind boggling the sheer number of different plant species that they have thriving in this environment.

IMG_5737.jpg

Of course being me, all I could think about while there was "Where is Pauly Shore?"

Only the coolest people know what I'm talking about. Or perhaps the dorkiest. I don't know.

IMG_5736.jpg

IMG_5735.jpg

IMG_5734.jpg

IMG_5733.jpg

There are a lot of these cool sculptures scattered around the domes, inside and out.

IMG_5731.jpg

IMG_5730.jpg
Ice Cream Break!

IMG_5727.jpg

There are also vendors working inside of the domes in case you need a quick snack. I feel bad for the ones working in the Malaysian section. It is really muggy in some parts!

IMG_5726.jpg

I can't remember where exactly this location is. But check out those long tables. This place smelled amazing! They are making all kinds of fresh breads. Okay, back inside the domes!

IMG_5724.jpg

IMG_5723.jpg

IMG_5721.jpg

I'm only just now realizing just how many silly shots that Amanda took of me. Oh well!

IMG_5720.jpg

IMG_5718.jpg

IMG_5717.jpg

IMG_5707.jpg

IMG_5692.jpg

Time for another random sculpture. Whoever is designing these things is seriously on something.

IMG_5690.jpg

IMG_5689.jpg

They have set this place up so well, that sometimes you really forget that you are inside of a contained environment. Check out this waterfall. This is awesome!

IMG_5688.jpg

And this primitive oven. I've been thinking that I want to make something like this myself.

IMG_5687.jpg

This sign just made me laugh because signs do that to me.

IMG_5686.jpg

IMG_5683.jpg

IMG_5677.jpg

IMG_5675.jpg

How about another view of the waterfall, because I love it. Enjoy.

IMG_5668.jpg

IMG_5667.jpg

This sign was my favorite of the day. Short people run left 98 meters, tall people run right 50 meters.

IMG_5665.jpg

Apparently they have something against Pines. Screw pine they say. Okay, I am starting to realize that these are the most images that I've ever packed into a single post. Perhaps I will save the rest for another! In the meantime, please be sure to check out the Eden Project website and be sure to visit there if ever in Cornwall.

I think that what they are doing is a really great thing and is worth supporting. Stay tuned my friends, up-vote, resteem and thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Hi @nuthman , you are pretty handsome man. What a great visite you made.
i have water in my mouth after watching pastries 😋. Can i have one please? I'm just kidding. Do you ate those pastries?
By the way garden having different small plants and flowers is looking amazing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Why, thank you kindly, my friend. No. I didn't have any of the pastries because I was completely stuffed from lunch. But they sure looked and smelled lovely!

This kind of building will be what we build as the first thing on the moon lol

I know! I was thinking the same thing. It always makes me think of the original Total Recall movie when they were shutting off the air vents. Haha

Wow that place is really amazing and a very good thing that you had a trip to see the different climatic sections of those domes @nuthman

Thanks! I was well impressed with this place.

Wow so interesting. What a project this guy undertook. Thanks for sharing @nuthman and especially with all the pics :)

Yeah, it looks like this guy has done a lot of massive projects around the country. Very cool!

When i saw your post first i thought some alien race has come to earth and building their bases! Don't mind.. I am sci fi geek! But the honey comb like buildings are looking as they dont belong to us! state of the art and way advance architecture. I was amazed that they contain different environments for native plants and stuff, something like the green-houses right! Amanda is looking very cute and i think her bag is An Indian product or inspired by an Indian designer! This type of bag for lafies is very popular here! Last but not least, the scarecrows man! They look even more scary than 'the nun' ! Dont give us a heart attack man! lol # 😂😂😈👹👺💀👻
Stay happy, keep travelling and continue posting your blogs! I enkoy them very much! Steem on!

Posted using Partiko Android

Amanda really likes Indian designs. Especially since she did a yoga teacher training course a few years ago. Yes, the buildings are pretty cool, right? I was impressed at how they were able to not only control the temperature, but the humidity as well in each section of the domes.

Amazing! I remember reading about this project when I graduated high school in '95. I too wish we had something like this in America. Looks like an awesomely humbling experience. (^_^)

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, wow. That's pretty cool that you were hearing about it before they even started building it. I had never heard of it until we actually went there. It's a pretty amazing place for sure. You and I are close to the same age then, I was class of 93.

Yes, I subscribed to a magazine called OMNI and I remember reading about it there and wishing I could visit then. LOL

Posted using Partiko Android

ah nice. Yeah man, if you have the chance you should visit. There is actually a lot of cool stuff in Cornwall to look at. It's a pretty unique part of England. A lot of people just go to London, but there is a lot more to see!

Hey @nuthman I would absolutely love to visit here if I ever visit cornwall. Its so amazing :)

--
I have joined my favorite communities on the 1Ramp App
footer.png

I hope you get the chance. It is really nice!

oh dear this is really greet photography.i like your post. i think you are natural lover.

Thank you, I am happy you liked the photos.

Great post man. I'm from South West UK and was at the Eden Project last month - small world. 😎

Followed

Thanks! We really loved Cornwall in general. I am from the US but my wife is from Suffolk, so we are in the UK a lot.

The only thing I wasn't keen on was the damp cabin we stayed in at John Fowler's Holiday. Not recommended!

I hope this project expands to other regions...

That would be awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29