Visit to West Coast Customs in Los Angeles

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

My father-in-law who lives in England is Obsessed with the West Coast Customs show on TV. I've never seen it, but have seen the odd commercial for it. Since it's just a few miles from where I live, we decided to take him down to the actual shop and have a look around!

qoxxm49410.jpg

This day was pretty packed for us. Our plan was to go to West Coast Customs, do a tour, and then head down to Hollywood and sit in the audience for the Late Late Show with James Corden.

Amanda is famously late for everything, therefore making me late, so I was pleasantly surprised that we managed to actually do everything that we set out to do! This was a record breaking day for sure.

23ir81cdho.jpg
My British father-in-law dressed as an 'American'

The actual shop was in no way just some Hollywood set made out to look like a real business. These guys are hard working and incredibly busy. They have had to hire a couple of guys to do tours now that it has become so famous, which is good for them as long as people don't get in the way of the workers.

uaxaghtrbf.jpg

I was actually surprised that we were able to go on the work floor and look at everything that they are working on. It was really funny because they aren't allowed to tell you who the vehicles belong to because they're all celebrities. But since celebrities are so vain, it was easy to tell. Especially the rappers. They tackily have their names embroidered in various spots on the fabric.

ku3j48f497.jpg

Unfortunately we were not allowed to take any pictures of cars that were currently being worked on. I guess there is some fear that people will freak out if they know that Justin Bieber's car is in the building.

29n25eobqr.jpg

We were, however, allowed to take photos of all the cars in the showroom. Most of these cars were on loan by Will-I-Am. I have no idea if I wrote that correctly.

zesxbpmeuu.jpg

Apparently Will designed all of these cars. They looked like full sized plastic cars to me, but were very cool nonetheless.

lxdcml50s8.jpg

The full sized Mario Kart was pretty awesome. I imagine that it was built for a specific person, but now simply lives in the showroom.

vq5rkq08cd.jpg

This Tesla Roadster was gorgeous! I have wanted one of these bad boys for years. Maybe someday!

6wczwcjr1h.jpg

The rims are further evidence that this is indeed a fully operational shop. I didn't dare ask for prices on anything. I am sure that it is all massively out of my price range. To be fair, I haven't wanted any bling on my car since the 90s.

4nb50xlnzx.jpg

On our way out, Amanda, Arthur and I signed the visitors guest book. That was kind of an interesting touch to have at a body shop. Well, I suppose it is no normal body shop at this point! If you're ever in LA and into cars, I'd recommend checking it out.

All of the people there are super friendly and will answer any of your questions - as long as you don't ask who a vehicle belongs to!

Sort:  

It's a brilliant tour here, I was looking at the sophistication of the cars in the showroom so much that I began to imagine how the cars inside would look like, I mean the ones you were not allowed to take pictures of, it's amazing look at those rims, wow

There was some pretty cool stuff in there! Everything was in various states of repair. There was this reall cool trike that was made up like Star Trek Discovery. I wish I could have photographed it.

Unbelievable that they were in states of repair really, really wish you really photographed them, wow this one I saw alone are amazing

All the vehicles are looking gorgeous . Those rims as well are pretty amazing.
As you said this stuff is enough expensive. By the way good collection.
Looking forward to your next post.
I will have to push your post link on twitter.

Posted using Partiko Android

This looks like some superhero car, are the any windows in it?

Just the windshield, I think! I noticed that a lot of ththe plastic looking cars had cracks in various places. It makes me wonder if they could handle being driven.

you can get your tesla just after HODL to da moon and when lambo:)

Haha, well I had a fleet of lambos in crypto back in Jan 2018. Now I have a Toyota's worth. We shall see how things go!

They look beautiful indeed but if a jealous neighbor would see that and scratch the heck out of its custom-made paint it would be a pain LOL. @nuthman

That would not be good at all!

Great post, I was imagining driving around with the Mario Kart haha.

I bet it would be lots of fun.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think so too! A Mario Kart street gang!

Wow dude! What an awesome tour! I would love to visit WCC! That custom tesla looks incredible! I'd love a Tesla... one day dude! In 3 years when steem is worth $100..... it's all possible :D

I'd love a Mario Kart Kart haha. Infact, I'm surprised a go-karting company hasn't already stared up a sort of 'interactive' go-kart track where everyone is in Mario Karts and there's some sort of theme.... potential business venture there haha!

Me too! I want the Mario Kart. Hehe.

I hope you are right about $100 Steem, there will be a lot of happy campers.

Really very beautiful antique cars. You are really lucky you can see the car directly.

.

Very good car modification, I like it

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75