Exploring Japan - A Visit to Tenjin-san Flea Market in Kyoto

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

market5.jpg

As I said in one of my previous posts last week regarding markets, I'm always a little timid when it comes to photographing in tight spaces with lots of people. I prefer much quieter areas or spaces in nature that make it easier for me to photograph. Sometimes beggars can't be a choosers though, you just have to do your best in the situation at hand and just photography details. The more I do these articles I think the more I will get used to these kind of scenarios.

This time I visited Tenjin-san Flea Market on the south side of Kyoto that takes place every 25th of the month at Kitano Tenmangu Shrine. It's a fairly big market and sits towards the southern area of the temple and works its way around the sides of the main shrine. I was visiting a number of craftsmen at this market and didn't actually take too many pictures, but I wanted to make an article with the ones that I did take as I thought other tourists who are interested in buying antiques and other small gifts might like this market and should certainly pop by if you're in the area.

Interestingly, this shrine is dedicated to Sugawara Michizane, a scholar and politician who was unfairly exiled by his political rivals. Throughout the years various shrines have been built to appease him, and since he is associated with Tenjin, the Shinto god of education, you will find many students coming here to pray for success in their studies. I spotted lots of students here in their school uniforms and I wasn't quite sure why until I researched it. Now you know! haha I hope you get a chance to visit and will also check out other markets in Japanese cities when you visit them. I think they give you a good idea of the culture and the different objects that are important to Japanese people. It certainly inspired me.

market6.jpg

market1.jpg

market10.jpg

market2.jpg

market3.jpg

market4.jpg

market7.jpg

market8.jpg

market9.jpg

market11.jpg


More from my Travels:

Exploring Japan - A Visit to the Kyoto Concert Hall
Exploring Japan - A Walk Through Toji Market in Kyoto
Exploring Japan - Tadao Ando's Garden of Fine Arts in Kyoto
Exploring Japan - A Visit to Kyoto Botanical Gardens
Exploring Japan - Yuzuruha Shrine in Kobe
Exploring Japan - A Visit to Kosetsu Museum of Art Garden
Exploring Darwin - A Trip to Crocodylus Park


All photos captured by Mark Robinson.

Please follow me @oen for more interesting art, design and travel content

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-japan-a-visit-to-tenjin-san-flea-market-in-kyoto


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Much different from what we would call a flea market. I would definitely check this spot out.

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Wow 😮 I never knew there where flea markets in Japan. I have to time it right on my next visit!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Hey @oen, I am a curator of the Whaleshares Curation Team. I have selected your post to be presented in a live curation discussion on Monday 11th June. Your post will be awarded a 100 Whaleshares vote on the night. I do hope you can come along and spectate. The event will be held in The Curation Lounge on the Whaleshares server. Here is a link to a post (from last week) explaining things: https://steemit.com/competition/@nikflossus/tonight-s-show-featuring-kofpato-and-prydefoltz

Love the pictures of japan! Makes me want to visit even more! Upvoted :)

Hello @oen, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62