An Afternoon in Bryce Canyon - Utah Series #5

in #travel5 years ago

All photos taken by me with a Fujifilm Finepix A210 except where noted, with some Lightroom post processing.

This is a continuation of my little Utah series of posts. This is from a trip I did back in 2010. Here are links to the other posts in the series:
https://steemit.com/travel/@oldmans/my-property-utah-series-1
https://steempeak.com/travel/@oldmans/the-trip-to-the-camping-spot-utah-series-2
https://steempeak.com/travel/@oldmans/zion-taylor-creek-hike-utah-series-3
https://steemit.com/travel/@oldmans/leaving-zion-and-the-semi-secret-petroglyphs-utah-series-4

After leaving Zion we took the couple hour drive to Bryce Canyon. We really hadn't planned on going to Bryce but decided last minute to throw it in. As you will see it was some beautiful scenery but because it was an unplanned trip we ended up in some fairly crowded situations.

Click images for larger view

This is taken from the Rim Trail near Sunset Point. Put two photos together in Lightroom to make this mini pano. I had no idea when I was taking these nearly 10 years ago that I would be using software that would allow me to stitch images together. Luckily I was obsessive about trying to capture the big picture even with my little Fuji point and shoot. :)


Another shot from the Rim Trail.


We decided to descend in among the hoodoos to try and escape the crowds.


At the bottom and the crowds are starting to thin.


All to ourselves, we found a narrow canyon to explore. Me standing on some flash flood debris with a couple of natural bridges behind me. Taken by my travel partner with a Nikon E4600.


After leaving Sunset Point we went to setup camp and then take the 18 mile drive to Rainbow Point at the end of the canyon. This was one of the many pullouts along the way.


Another Lightroom pano of an arch on the way to Rainbow Point. The right side of this shot might be a little distorted, but I am still satisfied with the result considering sometimes subjects that are closer to the lens don't always stitch together so well.


As evening begins to envelop the landscape, here are a couple views looking back down the canyon.

Like I said, Bryce has some beautiful scenery but some of the areas we visited were quite crowded. If I went back I would definitely find some more 'off the beaten path' places to hike. Also, I probably would not camp in Bryce again, it was a little to rowdy for my taste. :) Perhaps I would camp at Red Canyon (the next installment of my Utah Series) a little ways outside of Bryce.

Click images for larger view

Thanks for looking and enjoy your day!

Sort:  

Thank you oldmans! You've just received an upvote of 91% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

That's sweet! Beautiful I'd love to fly there!

Posted using Partiko Android

Not sure what the rules are drone flying, but it would probably yield some incredible shots. :)

Yeah me either but I'm sure that you need permission there. But would be worth it to get some incredible footage.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh damn! These landscapes are out of this world.

It is kind of other-worldly. :)

Beautiful 😊
One day I will see and photograph such Canyons myself in nature, and until then I have your photos, thank you @oldmans :)

You're welcome @johannpiber. I feel the same way about your images of Austria. :)

Thank you @oldmans, I think, we all know, how beautiful our own countries are, but we admire the beauty which is not in front of our door.

Very true. :)

You be chasin' down some hoodoos there!

I love Bryce. I often get hung up in Zion and skip time in Bryce, but I'm always sorry that I do.

I have a place I've camped a couple of times that is sort of in between the two, and I've stayed at the Motel at the turn out toward Bryce. That's a fine restaurant there. Home made pie among other things...

I would definitely like to return to Bryce with a little more of a plan.

I think we ate at that restaurant the next morning leaving Bryce. It was almost 10 years ago so the mind is a little foggy on some aspects of the trip. lol

Thank you for stopping by. :)

Hey there @oldmans!

What a breathtaking views and shots!! One can never get enough of Utah Nature shots and to think you had started the journey way back in 2010. I love all of it!

Congrats on your curie love. Cheers! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @maquemali! Even though it was almost 10 years ago some parts of the trip are still vivid in my memory. :)

I agree.. pictures are the best reminder of our past experiences and adventures. Sometimes looking at them relive the moments.

Posted using Partiko Android

Very true. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88