TAKING STEEM INTO THE WORLD'S LARGEST FLOATING SLUM #1; A TALE FROM MY CITY! ULOG #2...(See Video Below)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

image.png

That's me with a Blue Cap!


image.png

Lagos Nigeria West Africa is where I live, born here too over three decades ago and I have been to all the states of my country so trust every piece of my feedback today as I just got back from a trip into the Largest Floating Slum in The World.

If you can make it in Lagos, then you could make it in New York, Only if you can make it in New York; you can make it anywhere!

For a very long time, bringing more people in has been a thing to celebrate which is good, but what about touching actual lives on and off the Blockchain? Trust me, if you want to see real and concrete Poverty, then come with me on my Next Trip to the Floating school we(Myself and @steem-lagos team) visited and donated some stuff to today.

The commercial city of Africa, everyone wants to come to Lagos to hustle and survive all over West Africa, a concrete Jungle(Just Like New York), even though have never visited the states. A city that takes in over 3,000 Nigerians daily and with a quarter not having a specific destination from where ever they are coming from in the Most populous Black Country of the World.

I have seen it, I have tried it before in the past during my Mandatory National services years when I made my first ever trip to the Federal Capital Territory Abuja the Country's Capitol without a specific place in mind. I have a wild fantasy and Adventurous spirit from a tender age, it has gotten me in a whole lot of troubles and also broadens my knowledge about life!

"Eko Ile", which means Lagos is Home, a popular slang for people who reside in Lagos, and like every other place in the World, there is always a Slum. But this the Mother of all Slums around the World, a floating slum called "Makoko"!

MAKOKO

image.png

This is the largest floating Slum in the World, trust me; I still can not fathom how people survive that horrible smell and dark waters of the Lagoon. Major Occupation includes Touts(Hoodlums) as they collected all we had before we could be granted access to the destination school we have targeted. Fishing, Sand Dredging, food hawking, Boat Transportation and several other petty Tradings.

The smokes rise into the atmosphere from the Dirty Water, The Lagoon. To anyone who is a stranger; Makoko is the riverine settlement visible as you link Lagos Island from the Mainland via the Third Mainland Bridge. A slum in clear view that spans under West Africa's longest Bridge(Third Mainland Bridge) which is somewhat a shame to the Government of the Industrial city of Lagos.

On several Occasions, The State Ministry of Waterfront infrastructure Development had issued quit Notice to the inhabitants of the Largest Floating slum in the World, where do over 300,000 residents or more of the Water World go?

With no credible data available yet to know the actual population of this floating Ghetto called MAKOKO

People living in coastal areas of Nigeria converged at Makoko, French, English and Local Languages Egun is their major Language and means of communication, it was founded in the 19th Century as a fishing village and as the population exploded it became a stable community of six distinctive villages occupying both land and water. Four of this villages are completely floating on water while just two are partially on land.

Donating Lifejackets to One of Makoko's Floating Elementary Schools as the Raining Season Begins

Watch Out for the remaning parts in my Blogs and on @steem-lagos, and watch the vidoes!



Hello Friends, how is your week going?. Check out some of my latest amateur writing below. I appreciate all the support I have gotten from you all!

Ulogging Day #1; A Ferocious Ulogger, What the City made me become!

Blockchain Memory Project - Journal Entry (5)- "I DID EVERYTHING LEGIT FOR MONEY"

CASTING ALL MY BURDENS ON HIM FOR HE CARES...

MAGIC COTTON- A WEAPON AGAINST OIL POLLUTION

BODY DOUBLES AND CLONES; A TOOL BY THE POWERS THAT BE...FOR NOW!



FOLLOW-UPVOTE-RESTEEM AND MAYBE DROP A SUPPORTING OR CONTRARY COMMENT.....It's your friendly Neighbor @oluwoleolaide for Steem-Lagos-Nigeria-Africa-World!


Badge courtesy of @jodi.pamungka Animated Footer by @rituparnaghos.

Sort:  

Really great work, thanks for donating the lifejackets from your steem earnings! @fulltimeangel strikes again!!

Bless you Merciful Angel of light, Many Thanks from over here; Its your friend from the other side of the Globe.

I finally got to know u r figure bro. Pleasure meeting you😀😀

Thanks my friend...

Hmmmm!
One may be thinking that his/her own life is the worst......but there are many people out there you are better-off.
People are really living and swimming in abject poverty ....i wonder how they are surviving.....
Thanks dear for paying them a visit and stretching out your hand to help.....you took a bold steps.

You are awesome my dear friend, even though the slum thugs took all our money; but in all they granted us safe passage.

Yea....plus your burning desire to help the needy

you have the support of me and @sugarsteem once were up and running. It's amazing what you are doing and all the way from Los Angeles here, i can hear you! Keep up the amazing work, and feel free to tag me anytime for an upvote :)

Wow!

Am super Grateful for your support and encouragement.

Good job today bro, glad we pulled it through...

Many thanks for all the wonderful works and support big brother😎

so happy to meet someone like you on steemit i just followed you also upvoted

Nice to meet you too, followed back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34