My idea of a long weekend: ......Wednesday Evening to Tuesday Afternoon

in #travel6 years ago

Alright then, I've managed

FlightToAthensIMG_20171012_1208351.jpg
inside my EgyptAir getaway plane, Toronto to Athens via Cairo

to escape both the wilds of British Columbia

BCwildsIMG_20170801_1323078.jpg

SkeenRiveraIMG_20170807_1959493.jpg

and the concrete jungle of Toronto

ConcreteJungleTorontoIMG_20171012_0927404.jpg

ElephantsIMG_20171007_0930255.jpg

Concrete2IMG_20171012_0929081.jpg

although I have to admit one can still get a pretty fine bison burger at a sports bar in the big city

SportsBarTorontoIMG_20171011_1734320.jpg
a sports bar near Toronto's waterfront serving fantabulous bison burgers

And make my way to my new home in Loutraki, Greece!

LoutrakiViewIMG_20170709_1038494.jpg

LoutrakiaIMG_20170422_1357578.jpg

LoutrakiApartmentIMG_20171024_1217309.jpg
just moving in to my new apartment on the outskirts of Loutraki

The bureaucratic niceities of buying a house

to qualify for my Greek residency permit

plus then renting it out, finding a small apartment for myself,
setting up the power connection, isp, wifi, etc. etc. etc.
ALL in documents I could not read!
Had left me ready for one of my trademark "Long Weekends"
(ie. Wednesday to Tuesday!)

Since my sister was going to be in Zagreb, Croatia for a few days
because her husband was attending an EU music conference for university types
I decided to meet up with them there to have a wee look around.

Unfortunately, as I was about to leave Greece,

we were hit by a massive hail storm, the likes of which @liondani,
who had so very kindly offered to drive me to the airport,
says he had never seen!
A couple of inches of pea-sized hail stones fell in a half an hour.
I thought my plane would be canceled.

HailStormLoutrakiIMG_20171108_1142340.jpg
to the airport in the liondanimobile

But fortunately, the weather cleared up

and I was on my way to Croatia via Vienna.

I arrived in Zagreb just as Autumn

was kicking in big time.
You could tell because the leaves were falling like rain.

ZagrebLeavesIMG_20171113_1536403.jpg

Zagreb is not only a very modern city

with a sparkling new airport, and efficient trams and transportation
but also has a long and interesting, well preserved history.
I was very impressed!

Museums and other cultural attractions abound.

StrassomayerovaGalleryIMG_20171110_1218114.jpg
the Strossmayerova Museum of Old Masters

ZagrebPaintingIMG_20171110_1231310.jpg

Zagreb also boasts countless restaurants, bars, kiosks

and markets, all with wonderful food (and drink|!)

ZagrebRestaurantIMG_20171113_1356052.jpg

FoodPlatterZagrebIMG_20171113_1419056.jpg
prosciutto and sausage platter

ZagrebLasaniaIMG_20171113_1454358.jpg
"deluxe" lasagna (because of a couple of slices of bacon on top I guess)
.
.
.

But as a final "caveat emptor" to all you trolls

and bots who comment on my posts but don't upvote :-)

TortureMuseumIMG_20171110_1205571.jpg

Although I didn't have time to visit it this trip...........

I plan on making a VERY thorough study of Zagreb's Museum of Torture on my very next visit!!!

.
.
.
.................to be continued, more to come
.
.
.
Over and out
@onceupontaime

Sort:  

You live a never ending adventure!

Because of people like you!

Keep traveling and exploring...! You are a realy citizen of the world...

Goodness gracious! Man , what a life of adventure you are moving into these days. I'm glad your "liondanimobile" ride was successful, along with the airplane ride.

I'm so happy to know you have had the chance of hanging out with your sister and brother-in-law, another very beautiful treat of life.

Thanks for sharing all of this with us, especially the "niceities"! ;)

Namaste :)

Thanks a lot for the acknowledgment, it is appreciated. Namaste :)

Looks like some good times ahead for you, Paul! Upvoted @ 100% for that --- and hoping to stay out of the torture chamber! :-)

Hope you have a great time in Loutraki!

Oh, shit! I would have taken it as a supreme challenge to try to torture you :-)

perfect, great time to visit greece now that i have a free place to stay....

Greece is for lovers. You wouldn't be comfortable here :-)

Nice article. Great pics too.

Hope you enjoy your new digs.

Hi @full-steem-ahead, passing thru and saw you!😁
~bluerocktalk🖖

Well I'd like to have some of the cheese and ruccola please - apart from having enjoyed taking part on your trip(s) in this post, haha - never been to Zagrep, but all the other places are familiar to me ;-) How come you choose to live in Greece now? Besides the weather conditions, I would consider Canada the more relaxing place to be... but, who knows, the situation in Greece might not be so much of disadvantage after all :-) Upped and enjoyed your post a lot - @onceuponeatime is just the song I sang today in my post lol! Cheers from the Seven Mountains in Germany

The financial crisis that hit Greece will also hit Canada. Greece will have learned to cope with it before Canadians even figure out what hit them.

well and the people in Greece are adaptive in many ways - so good choice! It will not only hit Canada I believe... most of US and Europe will be just as surprised... Glad I found you - and follow you now - it was a silly circumstance of me reading a post seeing you mentioned and being connected to my post today.... but this is how life spins its most important threats I guess - Will see and read you - take care!

Thanks for sharing your adventure, thoughts and nice pictures. You were a bit unfortunate, in Attika-Athens we don’t get a lot of rainy days but when we do its usually heavy. I also love traveling and enjoying making some spontaneous trips around Europe and especially Greece where I live. In my recent last minute trip, my wife, my son and I left on Saturday from Athens to visit the thicket of Agios Nikolaos in Naousa Imathias (~500 km) and the waterfalls of Edessa and back home on Sunday. That sort trip can be my second post, thanks for the inspiration. Keep calm and don’t stop traveling!

So I guess that we are practically neighbors!

Just an idea for your next sort trip exploring Greece: https://steemit.com/travel/@lost-in-earth/trip-to-lake-plastiras-greece

Wow! Such a place would keep me from getting homesick for British Columbia. I need some wilderness sometimes.

awesome!! We should now arrange a wine testing meeting with @liondani!!

@liondani is to be the judge?

Beautiful post will dony

Well one thing is for sure, you should eat really well in Greece.

Wish I could do what you're doing. Do you speak some Greek too?

Well, I can say "good morning", "please", and "thank you" in Greek. All the rest is Greek to me :-)

But I have ambitions of learning some more.

Some great photos for sure! I am confused though, are they all taken on the same trip?

No, they are from several different times over the last year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87