A day in Algoquin Park Ontario Canada

in #travel5 years ago

Hello Steemit Community,

I am back to write to you and this time a day trip from Toronto to one large park in Ontario Algonquin Provincial Park.
I woke up early to be in meeting point in downtown. Actually, I bought a tour and this time and I did not travel alone but by car, with a friend of mine I met here in Toronto. It was supposed to be sunny today but once we left the city we found some fog on the way which did not affect that much the visibility. Well, three hours and a half driving to the north to see some Canadians landscapes.

_MG_0579.JPG

Three hours of chatting in the car it seemed that the time went faster. We stop two times on the way and the second time we stop in a "coffee bakery" here situated in the bay of the Lake Muskoka. I had the chance to taste something local. I love to taste new food and this time I found very sweet (or candy) and delicious made with sugar chocolate and caramel Food which provides energy because later we walked down the snowy tracks. Before we saw the lake completely frozen.

_MG_0593.JPG

image (3).jpg

And sometimes we had to be very careful to not slip and fall down. I got my boots to walk through the snow but still, there was a risk to slip because of the ice and snow. I expected that. Here was colder than in Toronto but I did not find humid so it was very good plus in the later morning, the weather became sunnier despite some clouds.

_MG_0588.JPG

_MG_0590.JPG

The first impression I had was many lakes and rivers and some of them still completely frozen. Vegetation kept green t in the colder temperature I really like that. And surprisingly we stop to see some blocks of a massive amount of ice which looked transparent, a kind of mirror. I do not know which is the most suitable word to express this amount of ice stuck in the rocks on our way beside the road.

_MG_0586.JPG

I expected to see some mooses cross the road on our way instead of that massive amount of ice. Some signs on the road show the possibility of these large animals to cross the road. Now stop to walk through a few tracks.
Following the tracks, it seems to be impossible to lose the way plus it would be very difficult to walk outside these tracks due to a large amount of snow.

_MG_0599.JPG

_MG_0600.JPG

A large amount of snow which cover even the benches I found. Some of them were completely covered by snow, also bridges covered by snow. I would imagine this park during spring or summer.
Keep walking surrounding by snow, trees and sometimes but colourful birds I was not able to shoot any photos closer. Just for their colour, this park deserves to be visited.

_MG_0605.JPG

_MG_0612.JPG

We stopped also the visitor centre just to have a short break and see a view from the other side of the building, the weather becomes sunnier and we enjoy better our time spent here.

image (4).jpg

image (5).jpg

In some part, we had to climb toward the top of the hill where it was possible to see and some other views of the park. . It was a while since I walked through a park full of snow and glad that the weather was more than affordable.

image (6).jpg

image (7).jpg

image (14).jpg

image (9).jpg

image (11).jpg

A beautiful day spent with very interesting people from a different origin. The only pity was we did not meet close enough any moose apparently we saw one far but we were not able to capture. What I was able to capture with my camera was another beautiful lake in this large park.

IMG_0629.JPG

What I was able to capture because we stop to see was a fox. From the photo, you will see it very small because I do not own a proper lens for such a distance.

_MG_0627.JPG

On the way back we stop to eat a burger inside a train. Yes, it seemed to be a train, Am I kidding? No, I am not. Actually, it is not a real train but it is designed as a train that is the reason why I found original if you like you can check here. The burger was very good and not very expensive, five Canadian dollars.

image (12).jpg

It has been a great tour I spent an excellent and relaxing time even if I came back to Toronto tired enough. If you have
e the chance to come to Canada you should visit this park from downtown it is around three hours and a half driving. One day it is not enough to enjoy this large amount of trees, rivers and lakes. If you are alone and want to go I suggested the tour I booked you can check here.

image (16).jpg

I would conclude this post and say thank you for your attention. Either you are or you are not from Canada you should visit this park. And hope you enjoy it

(All photos are my own property)

Best Regards

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=philfreetotravel
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-day-in-algoquin-park-ontario-canada


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #483.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Congratulations @philfreetotravel! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13