A quick tour to Casa Loma Toronto Canada

in #travel5 years ago

Hi Dear Stemmit community,

Today my post will bring you to an attraction in Toronto. One of the largest castle and residence in North America named Casa Loma

_MG_0568.JPG

In 1911, Sir Henry Pellatt one of the most powerful businessmen in Canada realize this stunning building in Edwardian style on a top of the hill, with an attractive view of Toronto's downtown.
He settled into this residence in 1913 with his wife and he lived in it for less than ten years until he had to abandon this home due to financial misfortune.

image (21).jpg

But let me show something inside the building and its elegance. I will do my best to summarize the beauty of this residence, a heritage of Toronto.

image (22).jpg

I would start to the lower level where I took my audioguide and make a tour self-guided. I went downstairs and found on the right side a wine cellar with a box of Italian wine. On the left a large corridor and on its right side a cafe and in the end a desk with an employee who provide audioguide in different languages.

image (23).jpg

Ok once I grabbed my audioguide I was ready to begin the tour. So I went back from the staircase in the great hall and turn on my right and see a large piano before taking a look into the billiard room. A private room where Sir Pellet wanted to entertain his friends not only through the billiard but also by drinking and smoking cigarettes together.
Besides the oak room also designed to entertain people but better designed with some eloquent art furniture and decoration as well as elegant. Basically following the criteria of this building in terms of attractiveness. But it is the only room in the building you can find oak and lime panels on the wall.

20190309_151337.jpg

From the Great Hall a large glass door to a large balcony with a view of the downtown. The weather was sunny and it was possible to spend time outside due to the temperature not extremely cold. It was easy to take some photos

I went back inside and see people dressed up as people during the middle ages.

image (27).jpg

Well, I followed on my right the corridor first on the right in the corridor I found the dining room, on my left side the serving Another finest rooms which show how elegant was this residence.

image (28).jpg

In the same level, there is the study of Sir Pelletti with a large window, a desk, bookcase and some narrow staircases which lead to the second floor where another large corridor give a welcome I just turn my right hearing some music from the great hall. There was an exhibition due to a large number of people from the balcony inside the suite (I will show you as below) I was unable to take many photos.
As I was saying I will show you Pelletti's suite and its no lack of elegance. I do not know if the skin of that tiger would be a true one but I found impressive enough.
It is told that in the Edwardian era it was common to have separated room between husband and wife. And it was a matter of health. The room as I was saying it has a small balcony for probably some speech during some events.
Close by there was the bathroom I do not need to show you it is told that it was very unusual at that time to have fully equipped bathroom with a plumbing system but at that time he was able to have the most modern one decorated with Italian marble, symbolize its luxury.
The next is the suite of Lady Pelletti which is larger than one of the Sir. Pelletti the first impact is room is the blue colour which I assume as unusual for a lady's room, I was honestly surprised
In 1912 Lady Pelletti became the chief of the Girl Guides of Canada and in the next room, there are some items related to that.
In the other side of the corridor, there are some guests rooms dominated by colour red which was also a surprise for me. It is named “Chinoiserie” and it is told that became from the 17th century when European became interested in Oriental decorative designs.
The third floor mostly preserves the document, uniforms, photos of different campaigns around the world such as Bosnia, Sudan, South Africa etc. a formation room, the Pelletti Board's Room, A group of seven rooms and the Queen's own museum.

_MG_0573.JPG

I concluded my tour by going to the top of the towers, actually I went just to one because due to the event the second one was closed.

Thanks for your attention

Best Regards

(All the photos are my own property)

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=philfreetotravel
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-quick-tour-to-casa-loma-toronto-canada


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #461.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Congratulations @philfreetotravel! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16