Our Week of Relaxing in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

in #travel6 years ago
Well I had planned to post my #runforsteem entry today, but I'm having some technical difficulties with my Garmin.  I suppose that means I might as well finally post some pics from the vacation @dksart and I took a little over a week ago. :)  He has posted some of the landscape photos, but I'll throw in a few of us since vacation is just as much about who you are with as it is where you are.


Even though we were with his parents, I still had to get some of the obligatory selfies since I'm used to it just being us on most of our adventures.  At least my arms are plenty long enough, so no need for one of those crazy sticks that so many people seem to haul around these days.


Beach selfies are always a challenge since you can't tell what the final result looks like until you get out of the sun anyway.  I think one of our last trips I was trying to take pictures of him on the beach and ended up taking pictures of myself instead.  Woops!



The resort where we spent our vacation was huge!  The main lobby area was about a half mile from our room.  It had some really nice landscaping and wildlife.  Plenty of places to kick back and relax in a beautiful setting.


I think the flamingos were my favorite wildlife.  I don't think I have ever been so close to one before.  The first night we were there we thought they might be fake, but they were much more mobile in the daylight so that settled that.  I caught this pretty good shot of @dksart with one in the background.


The beaches were definitely nice, though it took us a little while the first day to figure out which portion we were allowed on.  The resort had a few different levels of booking, so they had a few spots roped off for private access.  You could walk quite a ways down the beach in front of other resorts.  However we got hounded at least once to come check out another resort, so you have to be a little prepared for that.  My favorite pics came from the morning we got up early to watch the sunrise.

Shadows...

@dksart in action...

And the final shot before we went back in...


I think we did end up spending more time by the pool, though.  It was pretty large and had plenty of shade to keep my pale skin from roasting. ;)

Plus there was easier access to mojitos...


We did put on regular clothes for dinners, of course.  It is kind of fun to dress up a little bit since I spend most days in gym clothes.


We enjoyed great weather through pretty much the whole trip until the last night.  Doesn't get much better than a quick week relaxing in a little piece of paradise!  Though some of the benefit of going is realizing how much you appreciate home, too.  We stayed just enough time as I think we were all getting a little antsy for our own beds at the end.


The food was a little challenging for me as resorts are not always geared toward lots of vegan options.  The buffet ended up being the best, though, so we skipped most of the on-site restaurants to stick with the same one where I knew I could get something suitable.  As I said in a previous post, the pineapple was by far my favorite thing to eat.  Fresh, local fruit is always the best!

I hope you guys enjoyed seeing a little piece of our time away.  The resort was called the Paradisus Punta Cana if anyone wants to check it out.  There are too many other wonderful places to visit in the world for me to say I would go the same place again, but I would recommend it if that's on your list of destinations to visit. :)


Sort:  

I’m feeling a little bit envious...😂, but just a little...
Enjoy!

It was a good trip! Time to start planning the next one. 😉

hahaha is true about selfies on the beach. It has happened to me that later when I see the photo it is a disaster. The photo of you has been great!
by the way, You look wonderful. I loved your tattoos. :)

Thanks Poly! I guess beach selfies are like what photography used to be before we had digital cameras--you never used to know how your pics would turn out! My tattoos are all very meaningful to me, so I'm glad you like them. 😊

Wow, looks like you had an amazing vacation, definitely necessary after that run right?
Great pictures, the sunrises (right?) were incredible. Enough to get up early at least one morning. Thanks so much for sharing

My usual routine is being up early anyway, so it wasn't too much of a hardship to get up for such a beautiful sight! There really is something magical in seeing the start of a new day. It was just the vacation I needed this time around. Perhaps the next one I won't plan right after a race so we can pick a more active adventure. ;) Thanks for stopping by!

Beautiful couple!!! Nice pictures Katie!!!

Thanks Maru! We were very thankful for the time away. 😊

wouah ! Holidays are always good. Very nice photos.

Thank you! Yes, they are so good for the soul, and I definitely need to try to travel more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86