Airport Frustration: Why Are (some) People Like This?

in #travel5 years ago

phone.jpg

The airport is by no means a quiet zone. I hear random noises and announcements whenever I am waiting for a flight, it's part of the airport experience that we all have to deal with, but i heard something yesterday that it my opinion had crossed the line.

I was sitting in the boarding area, reading a book when I heard a screaming baby, nothing new, and certainly not uncalled for. After I heard the baby, I heard another child, slightly older talking loudly to someone, also, not unexpected, and not a problem in most circumstances. I heard the two (or more) kids for several minutes while I was sitting, and also heard who I assume was their mom talking with them. That was all fine. We share airports with all travelers, of all ages, and we are expected to treat each other with respect, and should not be angry when someone is simply making some noise.

The problem with the two children that I heard was they were not travelers, they were not even at the airport. The noises I heard were coming out of a speaker on a phone, and the kids were on a face-time call. This is what frustrated me. We have reached a point where lots of people simply don't care about being loud on the phone in public places, and now I am seeing another level where both sides of the conversation can be heard through a phone.

Speaker phone is crossing the line. If you are going to have a conversation on your phone in a public place, fine, but use headphones, or put the damn phone up to your ear like a normal human. There is no reason to subject the strangers around you who are sharing the same space to the noises that are coming through your phone. It is rude and beyond general public etiquette.

Please, leave the speaker phone off when you're on the phone in a public place. No one wants to hear the conversation.

Am I wrong here? This really frustrated me, and I'm sure I wasn't the only one. If you have some input on people who use speaker phone everywhere they go, and have no problem broadcasting those conversations in public, or if you like to do that yourself, let me know in the replies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78