It all started with the Sydney Opera House

in #travel6 years ago

_DSC11733.jpg

I've always been interested in architecture. As a young kid, my teacher would tell me to also draw other things than just buildings. But as soon as someone taught me drawing perspective, I was hooked. While my classmates would draw horses and cats. I was drawing buildings all the way to the horizon!

It didn't just show in my drawings. When playing with Legos I was obsessed with houses. Whenever my brother would tear down one of my houses, I was ready to kill him (and all his cars). The more stories, the better! With balconies and a fun roof. And internet stairs, of course!

I think I was 13 years of age, when we had a school assignment for the "arts & crafts"-class. We needed to design a miniature "iconic" building with a communal purpose... and build it with cardboard.

There wasn't something like the internet in our house, back then. I'd seek inspiration from the many photography books that my parents had. Or the pile of my mom's travel magazines. And then I saw it... The Sydney Opera House!

My own cardboard opera house looked a little like the Sydney one. But it had none of the round shapes, because that was a little complicated with the cardboard. But just imagine many triangles glued together! My opera house was a masterpiece!

It was the first building that I encountered that stuck with me. This was a style of modern architecture that I liked. Something semi-organically shaped that stands out. I never forgot about this building, but also never really put it on a "must see" list.

Until I suddenly booked a ticket to Australia. It became nr 1 on my to-do list. And the universe agreed and gave me amazing gifts to help me with it. I found the best Airbnb with city harbour view. And it was even available!! From my bedroom, I was able to see the Opera House the whole day & night! A view normally only millionaires would have...

The best gift was the storm... It was the afternoon before I would leave and I planned on spending it at the Opera House. As soon as I reached the stairs, it started pouring rain! Everyone would vanish! And I had the outside of the Opera House all to myself (ignoring a few security guards).

As soon as the crowds returned I walked away... a happy Steemian, having snapped some photos of my first architecture love...


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

Sort:  

Beautiful in black and white, really shows all the great lines.

I'm normally not a big fan of b&w... but this time I really had to :)

My opera house was a masterpiece! :D now i don't care about Sydney opera house, i want to see the cardboard one :)

yeah... It was recycled... :(

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=r00sj3
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=it-all-started-with-the-sydney-opera-house


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by r00sj3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Hello @r00sj3, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75