Somewhere in Europe #12: Chania, Crete (Greece)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

When I was a young kid in school, around 10 years old I guess, we had to write a report for geography. We didn't have a computer, but my mom had a super fancy typewriter that I would use for this. And since I have a more visual brain, I wanted to add some photos. The internet didn't exist yet and we would normally go to the library for information. But I was smart enough to know that the downside of that would be that I was not allowed to cut out the images from the library books. And I also didn't want to ask my parents to take me there. And so I became creative.

I snatched a pile of my mom's travel brochures (which she collected somehow) and dug through them. Since these didn't contain enough information about one country and I didn't want to go to the library I was a bit stuck. And finally, I found a brochure about Greece and its many islands. "Eureka!". I would write my report about the many islands of Greece and would only need superficial information about every island to fill the report. They looked so gorgeous and amazing that I also decided to do my speech about it a few months later.

It took me until this year to finally visit my first Greek island....🤭

DSC02708.jpg

Don't think that I didn't want to! I just didn't want to end up in one of those party spots. And as a solo traveller, exploring the islands felt a bit like a challenge (and too expensive) to me.

And then there was #nomadcruise. And they planned on stopping in Crete!🎉

I booked a jeep safari with the cruise organisation, which was cancelled due to lack of interest by the elderly people of the cruise. And so I ended up with a plan B, just visiting some towns on the Island.

We were dropped off in front of the central market of Chania, the "Agora". This indoor market building is from 1913 and the design is based on the market of Marseille. It was just massive! You will find a huge amount of local products here and I just couldn't resist. I bought an olive oil based shampoo for my oversensitive scalp (the shampoo turns out to be amazing!!). The market is also packed with tourists, so don't stay too long!!

DSC02697.jpg

We were on our way to the old port of Chania and everyone was in a bit of a rush so there was hardly any time for me to wander off and take more photos.

DSC02700.jpg
The Orthodox Cathedral, or church of Trimartiri

We passed the Orthodox Cathedral and I quickly snapped a picture. The construction of this church was completed in 1860 and has the style of a three-aisled basilica. The three doors you see are for the three aisles. The middle one is dedicated to the Virgin Mary. The left one is for Saint Nicholas and the right one for the Three Hierarchs. The square in front of it is one of the largest in Chania... And then I had to run after the group to catch up.

The highlight of Chania really is the port. The sea was getting a bit rough and you can see that clearly in my photos. Walking too close to the water on the promenade was a bit risky and so the benches were all empty (yoohoo, photo op!!)

kreta.gif
The water was a bit wild

DSC02707.jpg

I instantly fell in love with this part of Chania. The port is a remainder of the Venetian occupation and has a typical Venetian fortification. The lighthouse is from 1629 and it takes a bit of a detour to get there. Time that I didn't have, unfortunately.

DSC02750.jpg

And so I enjoyed the wild water in the port and the lovely colourful houses/bars/shops along the promenade. It was hard to imagine that during the second world war, this lovely city suffered immensely during the battle of Crete. Part of this city was completely destroyed by a severe airstrike. And if that didn't hurt enough, the Germans were freaked out so much about the resistance on the island that they started a massacre.

A large part of the inhabitants was executed by the Germans because of their resistance. And also the whole Jewish population of Crete was eliminated, somehow by accident. This is a super tragic story that deserves to be more well known around the world. The short version: On June 9th, 1944 a German ship carrying most of the Jewish prisoners away from the island was torpedoed by the British and sank. Almost every Jew from Crete died that day.

After the war, the city of Chania slowly turned into an important tourist destination. This sort of overshadows the impressive history of Chania and you will really have to look for the signs in the area telling this story. And that wasn't part of my trip that day.

So yeah, I will have to come back to Chania, visit the few monuments of the second world war. But also the archaeological sites, which it has plenty of!

blend.png
What the Chania port would look like on a calm day

linerose.png

Also in this series:

steemitbanner.png

Sort:  

Aaah, so the splashing picture you showed us was in Chania! I was in the same place but I didn't realize it at all, haha, and I didn't get the huge waves... great idea to show it in a gif!

Haha, no that photo wasn't in Chania. It was in Crete, though!

Not the photo of the surprised splashed girl? :D

Oooooh, yes!! The surprised splash girls was in Chania :)

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

The port looks beautiful. Especially with all the colourful buildings lined up on the other side. Thank you for sharing. Loving the series as I'll be travelling to Europe with my husband for the first time next year. Can't wait!

Oh, that is exciting!! What is on your list so far? Did you also see my Ireland series?

We haven't finalised our list yet but so far we have: London, Spain (not sure where yet), France (mainly Paris), Netherlands, drive through Italy and finish off relaxing in Greece. We're there for a month in total so I think we'll be super busy with our current list. There's so much we want to see but so little time! Good excuse to go back another time though.

Not yet (I've only just found you today) but I will look into your Ireland series after going through this current series. Thanks for all the inspo!

port and houses look great

yeah, that is kinda all there is ;)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=r00sj3
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=somewhere-in-europe-12-chania-crete-greece


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by r00sj3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84