Goodbye South Africa, hello new adventure!

in #travel6 years ago

action-adult-adventure-237697.jpg
source

On the 2nd of May I quit my job. Six years as a bookkeeper in the small town of Cathcart has made me realize that I for damn sure don't want to finish my degree and keep doing this for the rest of my life. Spending year after year keeping farmers out of trouble with the South African Revenue Service was going to send me to an early grave.

So what does a 34 year old do when he realizes that he needs a change of occupation and location? He sells all his stuff and heads to South East Asia to become a digital nomad in one of the most amazing parts of the world. My wife, the amazing @bunnychow, is already online with her coaching business at www.ulendamyburgh.com so it's just me that needed to find something to do.

That something is teaching English as a second or other language online, doing transcription work and, of course, Steemit! Keep an eye out for steemiteducation articles going forward as I blog about my journey to becoming a nomadic online English teacher.
You can also expect tales of our adventures in the exotic East. Both @bunnychow and I love food so expect lots of reviews of food and restaurants along our travels.

We'll be heading to Bangkok, Thailand on the 28th of June where we'll spend a month before heading to Hanoi, then Da Nang and finally Ho Chi Minh City for one month each. After that we will probably head to Cambodia and then Malaysia.
It's the adventure of a lifetime and you, gentle readers, are invited along for the ride.
Our tickets are booked, our worldly possessions fit into two backpacks and a suitcase (@bunnychow has a LOT of clothes) and there is no turning back now.

Footer.png

Sort:  

All the best... I've done a lot of travelling, but only been to South East Asia once before and that was for a 10 day holiday... so colour me jealous!
I look forward to following the adventure!

Thanks man! Keep watching this space. The adventure will be shared on Steemit!

Congratulations @rahvin84! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25