Sort:  

This is a fabulous post! Your writing is wonderful and very engaging! I love the pictures you paint with words and the way you bring the reader along, as if we're really there! The photos are great, but your words are even better! BRAVO for this excellent travelogue, and thank you for sharing it with #steemitbloggers 😊

Many thanks for your lovely comment @thekittygirl it is really encouraging as travel writing is what I plan on building a career on at the start of next year when I will be leaving my home city to travel the world 🙂 I appreciate your support + fantastic comments on my blogs.

It was at this point that the harsh landscape of Lanzarote started to take its tole. I had set out on this hike in a pair of trainers and by the time we reached the slope of the volcano they were torn, soles flapping loose like a gutted lizard.

I love this line. People who have never visited lava flats may no realize how sharp the lava is. This line clearly spells out the danger which lava presents. Taking spill in a typical landscape can result in a few bruises or scratches, falling on lava rock could mean a trip to the ER for stitches.

I was nervous the whole time I was near an active volcano, I could smell the fumes and knew it could burp up enough gas to choke me out in a second and without warning.

Where I live in Oregon there are multiple active volcanoes. Though they haven't exploded in recent history, they are monitored and known to be shifting their mountain tops as magma ebbs and flows.

With the recent volcanic activity in Hawaii and Indonesia people are awakening to the dangers presented by volcanoes. It's another one of those things which preparing for makes a certain amount of sense. At least here in Oregon it does.

Thanks for this post. I really liked the pictures and descriptors.

Thanks for your wonderful comment @tawasi. You're absolutely right about the volcanic rock, it's time for a trip to ER if you fall for sure. I remember actually having a few scratches on my hands after juggling those rocks lol

Where you are in Oregon sounds cool. I am aware I'm a bit of an oddball when it comes to these sorts of things but I'd love to go hiking in your kneck of the woods. I think it's a desire to always seek out the strange and inspiring places in this world, even though I know it's dangerous, I love scuba diving also and that's a dangerous sport. I guess it's pretty safe trekking volcanic areas these days as long as you keep track of the local monitoring services. I agree it's awful what has happened in Hawaii + Indonesia... But inevitable.

Thanks for reading my post 🙂

I live in Corvallis Oregon. It's in the Willimatte Valley. The hiking here is amazing, you can hike mountains or along the beach. There are deserts and rain forests. It's an amazing place.

People here are very outdoor oriented, people in Oregon like to bike, board, boat and pretty much any thing that can be done outdoors. People will go do all of these things rain our shine.

Safe journeys out there!

Wow - interesting to explore the volcano and see you juggling some volcanic rock. Ha! We live at the base of a volcano in Panama. :)

Ha ha, yes I thought it important to lighten the mood with a little juggling after the moral theorizing of the previous paragraph 😉

That's really cool that you live at the base of a volcano in panama. I am going to be passing through panama at some point next year, do you have any recommendations as to the best places to visit for adventure?

Glad you enjoyed the article @apanamamama, thanks for reading my blog 😊

Wow, looks like such a cool place to explore. Were you even a little bit scared around the volcano? I know I would have been frightened :P

I was maybe a little excited and apprehensive at times but mainly just in wonderment of the scenery/feel of the place. I'm not a very sensible person @sharoonyasir 😆 between volcano hiking and scuba diving I'm always after a new way to endanger myself. In all seriousness though, I really live for these types of experiences, it's where I find my inspiration.

Thanks for your comment sharoonyasir and reading my blog 😊

Woah, just so much feels reading how you describe these places here! Pics are amazing too!

Thanks for that lovely compliment @heartscally. I'm glad you enjoyed the pic's and the word pic's I painted in this article. I have a few more articles and a poem coming up inspired by that trip to Lanzarote 🙂

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #136 (5/16/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

What fascinating terrain! Thanks for the tour!

You are most welcome borrowedearth. I really enjoy writing these travel posts, trying to pick out the interesting nuances of place I visited and craft an impression of how I experienced the landscape ☺ thank you for your comment

This is such a unique trip. Thank you for sharing it! I love that there are farms there to make use of the now fertile land. I wonder how the wine from the grapes will taste.

Thanks a lot for your comment @supernovastaffy. Yes, you are right about the unique aspect of exploring Lanzarote. The place is so different and especially if you go places the tourists don't visit 😉

I can clear up the question of the wine from the cone farms, I drank a little while I was there and it was really nice. Very velvety like a rioja but with a different taste I can't quite describe. Really nice though.

Glad you enjoyed the article supernovastaffy, thanks for reading my blog 😊

That looks like an amazing trip @raj808 those pictures are great!

You must have enjoyed it a lot! :P

Yeah it was a blinder of an excursion and my favorite of the entire trip... well apart from the scuba diving which is still to be written about 😉

Thanks for checking out my article and I'm glad you enjoyed it

I would love to visit volcanoes, it's cool to think about when they were all more active a long time ago, when there was nothing or little and the earth was still growing older with time.

Yes, I get where you're coming from @thegoliath. Although I talk about thinking that area was active in the article, it was deep beneath the earth if there was any activity as the ground was only really warm. The main fascination and wonderment in the hike and the landscape was in imagining it all as eruptions were happening long ago. The solidified lava flow in the 7th pic, for example, really shows how the landscape would have been liquid when the eruptions were happening. Even now, as I look at it, I can imagine the red glowing rock flowing and the acrid smoke.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72