The Medieval City of York (Impressions and Poetry) - York Minster & The Shambles

in #travel6 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

HOLY COW! That looks like another world - at least the one I'm used to. I'm curious to know if this was the original York - and New York is the second. 🤔

Hi @mikeycolon sorry it took me a bit to respond to your comment. Ha ha, I was travelling back from York and had car breakdown drama.

I wondered the same as you about new york, as York was once a river port and one of the most important cities in England... but according to google:

New York was named after the fifth Duke of York, né James Stuart, who would go on to be King James II. ... Originally it was settled by the Dutch and called New Amsterdam. It was surrender to the British in 1664 and renamed New York. 350 Years Ago, New Amsterdam Became New York.

So it looks like it was named after a bigwig of the Tudor times ;-)

Thanks for your interesting and thought provoking comment mate :-)

I too find inspiration in historical cities and buildings. For me, it is a chance to marvel at what distant humans accomplished with so much less knowledge and technology than we have today. If only our psychology and cultures improved as fast as our technology, just think what the world might be. The human race can do amazing things, yet clearly also does much harm to itself and the planet.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers @steemitbloggers

For me, it is a chance to marvel at what distant humans accomplished with so much less knowledge and technology than we have today.

I feel what your saying here Todd. For sure, I marveled at the cathedral imagining the effort and ingenuity that it took to construct in the 13th-14th century. That stuff is just mind boggling! There is a TV show on here in the UK that you would like called: Secrets of the Castle where a bunch of social archaeologists build a castle in the manner they would have in medieval times. It is really interesting!

Thanks for your interesting and thought provoking comment mate :-)

Hi @raj808!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.059 which ranks you at #3224 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 8 places in the last three days (old rank 3232).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 434 contributions, your post is ranked at #255.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Very cool history. These are the best kinds of travel/history posts - rather short, but with enough detail that I feel like I've learned something neat. Well done!

I thought the hooks were used to haul furniture and other heavy objects into the upper rooms. Imagine getting a king size mattress up those tiny stairs! I guess it makes sense that they would use them for carcasses as well. :-)

Thanks @mattifer, I'm glad you enjoyed the post and that it excited the imagination :-)

I think possibly the hooks could be used nowadays for hauling furniture but it is well documented history that they were used to hang meat in the way I described in medieval times. Ha ha, I get lost in the gruesome imaginings of the smell, sights and sounds of that bloody street. Lol, but then I'm a big fan of Game of Thrones and other fantasy fiction.

Just suddenly wondered what it would be like to live in one of those tiny houses in the shambles! Not sure a king sized mattress would even fit!

Thank you for your interesting and thought provoking comment :-)

I know I have an incredibly romanticized vision of what life was like back then, but the reality is likely just as you described: gruesome and bloody.

@raj808 thank you for showing me the story of this ancient city. I just love the archaeological sites and ancient cathedrals, which are many years old. Once I even took an online course in art history to understand Roman architecture and Gothic architecture. I love to look at photos of Gothic cathedrals. It's majestic!

I'm so glad you enjoyed the post @veta-less. I too love Gothic and Medieval architecture in how it inspires my creative writing.

Also, just to look at as well and fell the age of these buildings seeping into the marrow of the bones. I'm gonna have a few more of these history/travel/poetry posts about this trip to York coming out in the next few weeks. Many more amazing pictures to come :-)

Wow, this is great! I will wait for your stories and photos @raj808 :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73