Travel at Home - Liverpool Docks, Dereliction & Gentrification

in #travel6 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

I remember visiting Liverpool a long time ago and remember the culture, heritage and bustling activities that I experience generally. Though not in the same exact area that you are sharing, from the pictures indeed it is far from what I remember. Modernisation is good but sometimes, I too like the warm, quaint and distinctive feel of the old.

thanks for the tour :)

You're most welcome @rebeccabe :-)

Childhood change is sad but true...at least its nice to see development unlike some cities that have been rotting away for decades with no hope in sight...

Some development is good... and some is not so good. When it is at the expense of a huge portion of the population for a very small minority of people benefiting not so good. Thanks for your comment @bobreedo

Wow! These pictures totally resembles the places I visited in dreams whenever I dream of zombie apocalypse. The 1st and 2nd photo gave me the chills!

Thanks for the tour, @raj808! Looks like a lovely place. I think it's perfect for photoshoots since it's abandoned. And also, whenever I hear the word Liverpool, I can only think of The Beatles. :) Guess I'll remember this post now, too.

Posted using Partiko Android

And outstanding street art!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha ha. I also have suffered some pretty vivid zombie apocalypse dreams @olaivart

Most people think of the beatles when they think of Liverpool, either that or football, but that's one of my jobs on steemit ;-)

To spread some knowledge of the out-of-the-way places in and around Liverpool. Thanks for checking out my photographic 'walking dead' tour of the docklands :-)

Thanks for showing us around @raj808

It's a real shame when you see all the lost industry and jobs that the place would have facilitated. I have a friend who I currently work with whose dad worked on the docks and, in turn, so did he. He's told me a few stories of growing up around there and frequenting a couple of the pubs in the area.

Cheers, Gaz

Hi Gaz. Yeah I agree it's a shame with the lost industry. I have a friend who works on the docks operating the cranes and he said it is definitely mechanization which has caused the decline in industry in the dock-yards.

Thanks for checking out my blog, I'm glad you enjoyed the 'walking dead' tour of the docklands :-)

You're welcome.

Progress! Not always a good thing.

Thanks for the tour I always wanted t visit liverpool but never made it

Hi Jay. Liverpool is one of those cities with a lot of different urban landscapes for sure :-)

Thanks for checking out my blog, I'm glad you enjoyed the 'walking dead' tour of the docklands :-)

@raj808 that's a great think on Steemit through posts like yours we can see the world from our desktop :)

Thank you for showing this side of your city @raj808! Industrial landscapes are attractive in their own way.

I agree @veta-less. For me they really do inspire my fiction writing more than anything as I'm a nature lover and prefer wilderness places but... there is always a silver lining and that inspiration and the street art are the things that line those clouds silver for me :-)

Thanks for checking out my blog, I'm glad you enjoyed the 'walking dead' tour of the docklands :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02