The Amazing Floating Village 'Kampong Pluck' | Ramengirl🍜

in #travel5 years ago

[EN]

The Amazing Floating Village 'Kampong Pluck'


IMG_2266.jpg

Hey guys. The reason I visited Siem Reap was for Angkor Wat tour, so I didn't research what else I can do in Cambodia except for Angkor Wat. After I got to Siem Reap I found out that there is a floating village.

Floating village in Cambodia is the place where the poor people built houses on the lake because they have no money to build houses on the land. When I heard that story I was thinking do I really want to go there? I felt like It's going to be painful to watch people living there. But people said it's really beautiful and just going there could help the community. So I decided to go there. There are few floating villages in Siem Reap, among them, I visited a place called 'Kampong Pluck'. I book the tour through the hotel, and we used tuk-tuk for transportation. For the tuk-tuk it was $15 for a whole day.

IMG_2236.jpg

I don't really want to recommend you to take tuk-tuk to go to Kampong Pluck because it was really hard for me. All the roads are really bumpy and dusty and you have to drive quite a far distance from the town. I wear a white T-shirt and it was the biggest mistake because after the tour my t-shirt changed to brown because of the dirt.

IMG_2237.jpg

When you get to the entrance of Kampong Pluck you gotta buy ticket first. When we asked the hotel reception they said the ticket price is $15 but when we got there they said $25. We asked why the price is different? They said we're not group tour you have to pay more. This is a really common scam in Cambodia. We already took tuk-tuk for about 40 mins to get here and there were a group of guys standing at the ticket booth asking money from us, so we didn't have a choice. To avoid this kind of scamming or arguing I recommend to book a group tour ahead.

IMG_2250.jpg

After bought the ticket we had to drove a few more minutes to get to another booth which you meet your boat driver/tour guide. When we got there all the guides fighting each other to get our ticket, so... it was a little bit scary...haha.

IMG_2253.jpg

IMG_2254.jpg

Finally, we got on the boat and started our tour. Our tour guide showed us their school, police station, church etc.

IMG_2261.jpg

IMG_2262.jpg

IMG_2266.jpg

For a few minutes, I couldn't say anything. It was just so amazing. There were a lot of flowers at each house, it looked beautiful and also made me really sad. My guide said tons of tourists visit Kampong Pluck but especially a lot of Korean people donating money to their community regularly. So he could've finished school because of that donation. He also said I have to appreciate to Korean people rest of my life. I was touched what he said to me and, and I also really appreciate to those Korean people who are helping other people all over the world.

DQmVXCCdPKh6T2D2uXXQz2JjHbYHeotjR1W1ALyW3GvhUnd.png

Sort:  

집이 옹망종망 귀엽네요.ㅎㅎ

@kiwifi님 그쵸~? 왠지 만화에 나올것 같은 분위기의 집들이였어요 :)

so nice experience

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68