Why I came back to Vietnam... | Ramengirl🍜

in #travel5 years ago

[EN]

Why I came back to Vietnam...



image

My trip to Vietnam started at the beginning of this year! The difference between when I'm in Korea and in Vietnam is that I laugh a lot because of people in Vietnam. Wherever I travel to different country I always get nervous and trying to cautious about everything, and Vietnam wasn't exception.

The Airbnb I stayed on this trip to Ho Chi Minh is located at the end of the alley way which 5 minutes walk away from the big street. At first I thought I made mistake choosing good airbnb this time. But then I started to see these old people having a nap during the day in a narrow alleyway while they snoring, children running in diapers, and middle age mans drinking beer in front of the supermarket every night, ladies who seem to working all the time without breaks, and the little scary dogs who always woke me up every morning. That's right I could see the local people's real life very closely. I probably not going to experience this that often, and I felt that I'm happy to staying here.

In Ho Chi Minh there are a lot of pickpockets, so every time before I step out of the hostel, I had to put my phone deep inside of my bag and hold my bag tight. Every time I go out I start my day with a frowning face because of the steaming hot air and the strong sun. But then a girl who look like she's 3-4 years old with her dipper running toward us and says "Hello!" with her lovely voice. All my tension flew away and I replied, "Hello!". Not only children, in this country people always look at my eyes with a big smile and they melting my heart.

One day, I walked around the city all day and came back to the hostel but then I forgot to buy water... I didn't have enough energy to go to super market or 711 so I went to little local shop near the hostel. I went in there and I couldn't find water except lots of Vietnamese beer... I didn't really want to drink beer but I felt like I need to buy something so I grabbed two tiger beer and was going to leave. Then middle age guys who was having beer in the alleyway invited us to have beer with them. We told them we're okay. But they already opened beer and hand it to us. They asked me where I'm from, so I said Korea. "Ah! Korea !! My Korean name is Park Hangseo! Korea Best!!" We can't speak any Vietnamese word, but somehow we had a conversation about 15minuets with local people because of Park Hangseo(Korean football coach). Before we leave they took out another can of beer from the ice box and put in my bag. And said "You drink tomorrow". After that day, they greeted us whenever I met them in the alley. Just like we're their real neighbor :)

Adults compare Vietnam to the 70's and 80's of South Korea, but since I wasn't there, Vietnam reminds me in the 90's of my neighborhood. Vietnam's development is so fast that I don't know how or when it will change, but current Vietnam and Vietnamese people making me smile and laugh a lot :)

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22