Traveling within the country or to another country

in #travel5 years ago

I don't usually travel much and I try to travel within my country as much as possible. I've visit few counties, USA, Nicaragua, Cuba, Panama. Usually people will travel within the country as it is usually cheaper but living in Costa Rica, unless you travel in the costa rican way and staying in modest hotels or family or friends it can be very expensive. Today I want to give this a deep analysis on the topic. I know first hand from friends and tourists that have stated that Costa Rica is a very expensive country to travel and also to live in. For example, couple years ago I took my wife's parents and my parent's to Panama to stay in an all inclusive Hotel and that was cheaper than just staying in an all inclusive hotel in Guanacaste.
DSCF3937.JPGAlmost 5 years ago, we decided to visit Cuba as it was cheaper too fly and stay there than just staying in a Hotel in Costa Rica. Plus we visited that beautiful country and happened to see such diverse culture, classic cars and feel safe and happy in our honey moon.

Now I've also had the opportunity to either stay couple nights in 1 hour away all inclusive hotel or maybe visit Austin and stay longer. What would you do? I've never been in Austin and I'm just mentioning it because it is a city where the company I work for has offices and there is a friend (@jrb450) and also I could get to know few peers I work with. Thing is, will you travel to another country or stay home? Would you rather pay a bit more to support local economy?
To be honest, when I had had the opportunity to suggest places to friends and tourists I always mention the great food, small and local places rather than the big name places/hotels so I can help the locals specially those small businesses.On the other hand when I'm trying to find a place for myself I find it very hard to pay that much for something I know I could get for less and when I compare with places elsewhere (say another country) it doesn't make sense. I mean I could travel to Colombia and visit peers there as well and also get to know a few new places and experience something new.
What are the things you take into consideration when you are in that situation?
PS: It is to celebrate 5th anniversary and also probably last chance to travel in a good while because of Sofia.


@raserrano - Developer

kedjom-keku.jpg
@kedjom-kekuConservation Association
KK-icon-plant-tree-Green-outline.png
@treeplanterFund-raising upvoting bot
FFF-logo-bw.png
@forestfriendlyWater Saving bees

pal-sig-anim-trans

Sort:  

It would be nice to earn enough steem to do both.

This is always a dilemma. On the one hand you want to keep costs low and manageable while supporting the local economy. On the other hand you want to make the 5yr Anniversary really special. Physical limitations aside, you may need more information like: active or passive activities, shopping or entertainment, beach or land destination? Maybe jewelry may be more in order? Maybe a spa type thing? Creativity and thoughtfulness are most important in situations like this....

Yup trying to decide what to do and really trying the make the most of this chance as it is also a one time chance :P

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by raserrano from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

That’s a tough one. You traveled most of Costa Rica. I’ve only heard great things about Austin, actually it is supposedly the “Portland” of the South. It’s the city that I most want to visit in the South. But Costa Rica is beautiful. You can’t go wrong either way!

Congratulations @raserrano! You have received a vote as a way to thank you for supporting my program.

Hi @raserrano!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.888 which ranks you at #4122 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 9 places in the last three days (old rank 4113).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 270 contributions, your post is ranked at #190.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82