Travel tribulations and Airport drama - A tale of busted baggage.

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_0545[1].JPG

I'm not really sure how to start out this one, but know that it's a tough post to write. Not a fan of naming and shaming so I will not be broadcasting who the carrier was.
However, I will be going into detail regarding my interactions with one.

I made a choice to pack up my desktop computer and take it with me on this trip over to the U.S of A. Thinking it would likely be bumped about, I reserved the largest and most robust suitcase for its protection.

Wrapping it in multiple layers of soft material with even an anti-static liner in case it rubbed, I had braced every internal component as well, removing any un-tethered hardware inside.

When I took ownership of my suitcase at the other end it appeared that things were okay, the only indication was a small pressure mark on the outside and maybe a few scratches.. Little did I know the shitstorm that would be contained within that case.
IMG_0550[1].JPG

My graphics card is bent, a 1080 TI Kingpin rendered inoperable.

IMG_0536[1].JPG

My PCI-E pins on the main board are completely mashed, rendered inoperable.

Watercooling AIO cooler radiator had torn free of its mounts and dropped about an inch or two, catching up on the main board power to stop it from smashing the ram.

Two ram sticks out of 4 had impact marks and was lifted free of its mountings.

The entire side of the case seems to have had about 100kgs or more dropped on it, as it has collapsed and bent the motherboard tray attached on the other side.

The Wifi card (internal, pci-e 4x1 connect) had torqued so much from the bending case it popped free of its slot and was smashing the ever loving crap out of my beloved 1080Ti.

The suitcase itself is steel boned and the boning is bent almost in a dogleg, this is where I assume the contact took place.

1525660190443.JPEG
I am beyond pissed off at the level of inattention a labelled "Fragile" bag with the airlines own tape.
They have destroyed in my local currency about $4000+ worth of hardware.
I have contacted them and will update with the resolution or outcome that they come too, but have been warned that it's not looking good as there is no 'damage' to the outside of the bag.

I still hope I get a favourable outcome.
Literally feel sick at the loss I have taken.

I spent 8 years of my life saving up for this computer, it was the biggest upgrade I have ever done and to have it taken away from me by some company I have PAID TO SERVICE ME in my travel needs. I just can't even.

I will have to replace the components in this box (and replace the case) in order to reach out to family while on my holiday, process my footage and do all the digital content creation I work on here at steemit.
This is just sickening.

Please, if any of this resonates with you, I implore you, click that button and help me out here.. Really would help.






We hope you like what we brought to the Blockchain today! Please leave your comments and feedback in the comments, we love to hear it!

Stay tuned to our page for Microscopic Mondays, drone shenanigans, poetry, 360 VR footage, 3D prints, and the occasional chuckle!

Much love, @sammosk and @stitchybitch! <3

Sort:  

Man that sucks bad! They prob won't help either cause they're assholes. I would try an RMA on the parts. You'd be surprised at how helpful the manufacture is.

Wow!! That is really shit, I'm sorry this happened to you. I don't even know what to say
hugs x

Airport related drama are the original hero

Wonderful post,i like this

*sings a little
'if u like it then u shoulda put the case on it...'

$4000, that's a huge loss. If they do not agree to compensate, sue them. I feel the pain, you are having by just reading the post. Hope, you will get the compensation.
Share us the updates. And let us know the name of the service provider.

it is good.good to see on this post.keep it up.really you sheared a nice blog.continue

wow! Wonderful post, I particularly like the photos and how well written it is between photos. Well how do you write so beautifully.
Great balance of written and visual presentation here rating 10/10 as far as I am concerned!

You hate to see that Sam. Never come between a man and his PC! Hope they can help you out with the damages somewhat... All the best is getting another PC asap :)

One of the oddest things with shippingvis you put it in a padded box labelled fragile and it gets beaten all to hell. Had you shipped it unpackaged, in nothing bit it's own case, it likely would have arrived with barely a scratch.
People are weird, where if they can't see what it is, they don't care. If they know what they're handling though it's a different story.

It seems oxymoronic that it's safer to not package fragile goods, but strangely true a lot of the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17