Snowy Queenstown, New Zealand

in #travel6 years ago

Hello Steemers

Whilst I am sure many of you are enjoying sunny hot weather in the Northern Hemisphere down here in New Zealand it is winter. 

This morning I woke up to discover it was snowing outside and I was unable to go to work as my car got stuck, so instead I walked to my art studio and took some photos along the way.

Here are some of the photos I took of the snow in Queenstown where I live. Queenstown is a popular tourist destination as many people come here for the mountains, skiing and extreme sports.

This my street that I live on, it was pretty slippery walking down into town.

This is the lake front in the CBD where you can book tours of the lake and extreme sports.

This is Rees Street in the CBD, the mountain in the background features the gondala to the Skyline at the top.

This is Ballerat Street which looks towards Queenstown Hill. The two large Wellingtonia trees are 'The Trees of Justice' outside the Queenstown court.

Another view of Queenstown Hill from Ballerat Street.

Lake Wakatipu from Fernhill, the hill in the distance on the left is Deerpark Heights. This was a Lord of the Rings filming location.

Fernhill, just a couple of hundred yards from where I live.

This is Camp Street, one of the main streets in Queenstown.

Stanley Street looking towards Bowen Peak in the background.

This is Lake Wakatipu, I was playing around with the photo composition and colour.

Lake Wakatipu view from Queenstown CBD.

I hope you enjoyed my photos :)

Sort:  

I love this place...i will add it to one of the places i will like to visit.

Thank you for sharing this lovely place.

You should totally visit Queenstown, it's a beautiful place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93