The Most Beautiful Town You've EVER Seen: Iceland Day 3 and 4

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_20180727_110811-EFFECTS.jpg

Day 3 (If you missed Day 1 and 2, go here first: https://steemit.com/travel/@sarahjordan/iceland-travel-journal-day-1)

Checkout time is 10am, aka 5am in our time zone.

Chad hops out of bed eagerly and cooks breakfast for us (swoon) and practically drags my ass out of bed every day.
The mornings are not easy due to the 5 hour time-difference (yes, we lose 5 hours of sleep) and because Chad is forcing us to live like this is our time zone. I swear Chad is actually super fun the travel with.

I didn’t sleep in the dwarf bed so I’m praying our new Air B N B in Olafsvik has the typical American adult-sized bed.

By the way, did I tell you I’ve been drawing a summary of our days in Iceland every day? (I left out the X-rated parts)

IMG_20180806_153616.jpg

Chad is actually drinking this foul, fart-smelling water. We leave Reykjavik in search of nature.

By now I’m a pro at roadside peeing and I do it in front of cows and goats, in front of Chad and in front of passing cars with no shyness whatsoever. Don’t act like you’ve never done it before.

My audience:

sheeps.jpg

We drive next to lava rocks, the biggest mountains I have ever seen, and many more farm animals.

horsies.jpg

We stop at the troll stroll. It’s free, like most of the attractions in Iceland. We learn that Icelanders tell their children they will get kidnapped and eaten by trolls if they misbehave. Lovely.

troll.jpg

By now I am ravenous so I decide to eat Chad:

chadtroll.jpg

I am obviously kidding.

trollhomes.jpg

We move on and stop for more pics. I convince Chad to become my wilderness model...but he probably still has to keep his normal job. We find a glorious waterfall and frolic like gnomes for the camera/phone.

coldaf.jpg

My stomach is growling angrily so we stop at a farm for some breakfast. I open the car door and promptly shut it because a roaming Border Collie tried to jump in. I get out Chad’s door instead.

mars.jpg

We see a Rastafarian looking sheep or a goat with dreads using the outside table as his personal ass scratcher. We decide to sit inside.

We share more food: I eat 2 eggs, 2 slices of toast with thick globs of melty butter and homemade jelly with tea. Chad eats all that plus a ginormous plate of Icelandic breakfast meats and cheeses.

By the way, there is no salt and pepper here so far. I force myself to eat plain eggs and plan to pack my own salt-lick (like a rabbit) next time.

After much driving and stopping, we finally arrive in Olafsvik.

olafs.jpg

It’s f*cking magical!

My face hurts from smiling. I’m nearly crying it’s so beautiful. Also my blood sugar is probably low.

This is like the unpopulated (much colder version of) Hawaii I grew up with in the early 1980’s but time 10,000...the gorgeous crystal blue ocean glistens under the sun, beside massive rocks and boats. We see emerald-green mountains and waterfalls all around. There are restaurants! And a grocery store! And a beach!

beach.jpg

All within walking distance!

IMG_20180727_142754.jpg

Get $40 in travel credit on Airbnb, anywhere in the world: http://www.airbnb.com/c/sarahj24797

I instantly decide to buy a house here if I ever reach my epic financial goals.

We share Pizza and fish tacos for dinner and head to our Air B N B.

Here's the view from inside:

ocean.jpg

It’s amazing! There’s a real bed! And a hair dryer! And more than one towel per day! I love this place!

giant.jpg

We go out to see a band play at a hostel. The band turns out to be 2 people playing acoustic guitar and singing, a male and a female. It makes us nostalgic for our instruments and playing together at home.

We end the night by watching the sun dip into the ocean sometime around 11pm.

sunset.jpg

Day 4

I slept so much better last night.

Today is actually our 3 year “living in Asheville” Anniversary...I couldn’t imagine a better way to spend it than exploring Iceland together.

We visit a crater that you can climb up. The stairs to get to the top are about an inch high each. I’m serious. It’s hard to lift my leg this low.

climbing.jpg

We visit a beach with massive lava rocks. Chad quickly ascends...

openarms.jpg

We hike to more rocks and pillars.

rocks.jpg

We see the famous archway (it looks like UNO) and by now I am so hungry that my insides are burning.

We share (I know right, more sharing) a burger and fries.

I instantly devour my half of the hamburger. I let Chad drink his share of soda first, in hopes that all the bubbles will fill up his stomach so I can eat more. I ask for another hamburger or 10 but Chad wants "real Icelandic food" so we wait.

After our burger snack, we decide to hike up one of the emerald mountains and into a glacier cave.

glacier.jpg

With wet feet and frozen hands, I allow Chad to walk/leapfrog over rocks and white water rapids backwards in front me so he could use his other hand to help me get my legs onto the slippery wet rocks. I was literally crying because 1) it was so loud, 2) it was so cold, 3) I don’t want to die inside of a glacier, and 4) it was just really overwhelmingly beautiful. Meanwhile, there were people trying to pass me and I didn’t want to rush or fall into the frozen water.

inside.jpg

Back at the air b n b, we take a nap. But first I get another shower to warm up my frozen limbs and blue fingers.

Finally, we have dinner at Sker. We share bread and salad and date cake. Chad also has some fish that I don't like...so the dinner “score” looks something like this: Chad: 2.5, Sarah: 1...not that I’m keeping track.

We walk to a waterfall near our Air b n b. Like everything else here, it’s f*cking magnificent...

Sort:  

you totally took me back to 2004 when i was last there. It is such a beautiful place !

great travelogue writing skills there

Thanks @ozkdawg
Glad you enjoyed my writing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71