[Seany's Daily Shenanigans] Hanami 花見 Event in Finland next week! + Steemit Events Suggestion

in #travel6 years ago

Hi Steemians!

As all of you know, I really love travelling to Japan. But one surprising thing that I have not done in Japan yet, which really surprises people, is to see the Cherry Blossoms!

30127192_1836275526666734_6308013966509473792_n.jpg

Of all the times I have visited Japan, there are two main things which have eluded me. Sakura, and Snow.

Interestingly and maybe just a little ironically, I might just complete both by next week!

Cherry Blossoms / Sakura will appear somewhere in Roihuvuoren, Helsinki next week! I have not done alot of research on this yet, but it seems that there are Cherry trees planted in that garden/park by Japanese living in Finland quite a long time ago. Because Finland is higher up than Japan, the Sakura Season comes later.

This came really as a surprise to me, in a form of a Facebook Events recommendation.

I found their website: https://www.roihuvuori.fi/hanami/

I checked Instagram's hashtag for this event, and I got some photos from previous years attendees.

But there's not much information there that I can understand. I'm quite excited for this last minute event, so I'll be booking the bus to Helsinki for next week. I have got my accommodation settled, so I do hope I get to see Sakura for the first time in my life - in Finland! And maybe get to eat some Japanese food if there are stalls set up that day too, hopefully.


I actually thought it might be an interesting new feature as well if Steemit could also incorporate something like 'Events Near you' or 'Events you might be interested in'. I think that this could also help Steemit country teams or communities in order to increase their reach, domestically or regionally. I also got this idea from my local community, where a point was raised on how Steemians could get an idea of who to contact if they visited a specific country and wanted to get in touch with that local community.

So in general I think that a SteemitEvents feature would be able to achieve a few objectives:

  1. Allow Steemians to find out interesting Events happening near them, and be able to invite other Steemians to attend or check it out.

  2. Create Steemit Events, and broadcast to Steemians in their targeted area to check out (who would otherwise not have known about the event at all)

  3. Help Steemians figure out who to contact if they happened to be visiting a specific country, and wanted to grow their network, or just make friends.

What do you think?

Support this Awesome Project by @TeamSingapore!
#TeamSingapore Curation Trail - Promoting Quality #Singapore Content and Supporting the TeamSingapore Community

#Team.png



Thanks for Subscribing!.png


For my introduction post please check here!
Where else have I travelled to?
Check Seanytan's SteemitWorldMap!

Sort:  

You got a 20.02% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @seanytan!

Sakuraaaaa! All cherry blossoms we saw on our recent trip were already wilted :(

Anyway, I love the suggestions. For a very supportive and engaging community of steemit, I'd like to see this through.

oh man, was the window of opportunity really small when you went?
ah yea, but I wonder which hashtag i should use to let the 'relevant authorities' know about my idea ahaha

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by seanytan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 1.79% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @seanytan! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1.25 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

Thank you so much for using our service! You were protected from up to 20% losses!

Help us grow by delegating to us! 100sp, 500SP, 1000SP, ANY SP

You just received 5.61% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @seanytan!

You got a 10.81% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @seanytan!

Send at least 0.1 SBD to participate in bid and get upvote of 0%-100% with full voting power.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 8.09% upvote!
I was summoned by @seanytan. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73