The Philippines - The Islands of Coron, Chapter Three

in #travel6 years ago

"Coron is a whole new level of unique beauty. "    

「  The Islands of Coron, The Philippines  」

C H A P T E R   T H R E E


Coron, The Philippines
Monday, 1 October 2018

I'm back online! First of all, apologies for the delayed blog. One of the disadvantages if staying in hostels is the lack of reliable Internet. Because the quality of the photographs is rather high (up to 10mb, sometimes more!), uploading is an extreme pain that can sometimes take hours. However I don't want to skimp on quality for you guys so I'd rather wait and upload high quality content for you all here!

Anyway, onwards to the final part of our island tour of Coron. We finished our lunch and made our way to the world-famous Twin Lagoons. These two lagoons are situated directly next to each other, fortified by large pillars of rock that surrounds its edges. The boat stopped at the southern lagoon where it was shallow. What befell our eyes was a stunning, shimmering sea of turquoise, with the white sand acting as a backdrop emphasising the blue of the sky reflecting upon the sea. As my friends kayaked towards the other lagoon, I decided to send my drone up from the boat. From 200 metres high, the twin lagoons beauty was emphasised even more, with both lagoons in plain sight and the boats darting around like small insects within the lagoon. From here, I jumped onto my kayak and paddled to my friends who were ahead. There was a small rock entrance between the two lagoons, no more than three kayaks wide and requiring you to duck. The other side was just as mesmering!

Twin lagoons from the sky

We kayaked for a while and cambered back onto the boat, satisfied with the photographs I was able to take. The next destination was the underwater wreckage dubbed the Skeleton Wreck, which was an old ship that was sunk in the shallow waters near Coron during World War Two. Thankfully even from snorkeling at the surface, the wreckage was in clear view, with the more experienced free divers able to dive all the way to the ship itself. The boat was surrounded by hundreds of tropical fish that didn't seem at all bothered by the tourists that swam around the wreck. Luckily the combination of my GoPro and drone gave some stunning shots of the surrounding area, emphasising the striking peaks of the nearby islands and moreso the vivid blueness of the sea.

Me flying my drone from the boat!

The Skeleton Wreck with our Filipino diver-guide

Our last destination of the island hopping tour was to Lake Kayangan which features in many of the photos when you search for 'Coron' on the Internet. Because the pier was so high, our boat crew had to kneel down and allowed us to step on their backs to reach the pier safely. To reach, Lake Kayangan, we had to trek up about 150 steps over the peak and climb back down. At the top of the peak however is the perfect Coron picture. With the foliage in the foreground, you get the opportunity to capture the striking rock peaks of the islands, surrounding the shimmering turquoise sea and if you're lucky, the boats coming in and out of the lagoon. As you can see, the resultant picture is simply... Perfect.

The beautiful view from the climb to Lake Kayangan

The lake itself is striking, and because we arrived so late in the afternoon, it was pleasantly peaceful and calm. We swam for a bit here (but not far away as we were told that large baraccudas live in the lake!!). Finally, we climbed back over the peak (taking about 20 minutes) and arrived at our boat, which took us back to the town or Coron during sunset.

It was a perfect trip, and for the price, very well worth it too. Our tour was the Ultimate Tour B package and only cost us 1400 Philippine Pesos (about £20 or $24). I fully recommend it if you get the chance. It includes lunch, pickup and a guide!

In any case, stay tuned for our land tour of Coron. Me and my companion teared up the island on bikes, exploring the small details that the island had to offer! Blog to come in a few days now I have Internet access!! And as always, much love, all.

The view of the start of the climb towards the lake

F I N A L  P H O T O G R A P H S
The Islands of Coron, The Philippines


D E T A I L S
🌏 | Coron, The Philippines
📷 | Canon PowerShot SX730 HS/DJI Spark
🎨 | Lightroom Mobile edits used


Over the next few weeks I'll be trekking through The Philippines and I'll be sharing with you my stories, emotions, advice and tips about this wonderful place. I will be doing this while sharing my photographs with all of you too. I sincerely hope this inspires you to go out there and travel!

Please do follow if you want to keep up with my journey through this country <3

Any upvotes or reblogs are hugely appreciated! Much love, everybody.


P R E V I O U S   P O S T

Click on the photograph in case you missed the last adventure...






I N S T A G R A M 📸

Follow on Instagram for more! Comment and say hello 💙

@stephengreenprice

Sort:  

Wow.
This are breathtaking.

Thanks <3

hey seetheworld.sgp,

Do me a favor, stop bidding over the curator give back on bots...
You come in with a bid larger then the bot can handle...
And turn your money spent on your bid into a lose because of curation!
And you mess up the other large bidders.

for instance I had $27.50 in bids on @appreciator, which means that the give back to me at 15% removes $42 from the $178 pool.

Meaning the remaining amount in the pool was $136.

That meant ELLIOT to get the 15% profit, HIS BID WAS $90 (about $2 to big)
$90 + 1/3rd for curation = $120 then $120 + 15% for profit = $138...
So immediately the return you can get out of the pool is less than max
ON TOP OF THAT with 45 min left someone else will surely jump in...
Your $25 meant a lose for ROI FOR ALL OF US, BECAUSE OF CURATION.....

Considering there you had the ability to see the information before you bidded by going to the details....
index.png
I can only assume you did not know how the bots work...

If you need my help to explain it.

Feel free to contact me. But in the future if your unsure if I am bidding please refrain from bidding on the same bot for that voting period and I will do the same for you.

@RichAtVNS

Oooh get called out

Its alright, I know I was in the right but I'm not a man of war, I'll let it slide :)

Hi there, thanks for your message. I appreciate your concern on this, and trust me I aim to ensure that I do not overbid on these services if I can help it. At the time of looking, the suggested bid was about 40 STEEM, so I bid 25 STEEM to have 15 STEEM left over. Either this was a visual error or not, it is unfortunate that someone else bid on top of this. I assure you I always check before I make bids. Also I'm sure our bids won't cross paths again, I really don't bid that much! Last time I posted an actual blog was 13 days ago. Anyway, thanks for stopping by with your concern. Most bid bots will give a negative ROI if you've been keeping an eye on the Tracker in recent weeks :)

Loading...

so beautiful nature

It is indeed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful photos!!

Thanks so much @amzar123, truly appreciated! <3

Wow, mountainous islands and clear blue waters. This definitely looks like a tropical paradise.

It really is! Didn't think it could be topped until I got to Siargao Island though...

Absolutely mesmerising. Coron seems to be an amazingly beautiful place and your photographs do it justice, truly a wonderous place.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much for the kind words. Coron is truly a work of art and worth a visit!

Looking forward eagerly to you sharing your stories and photographs regarding the rest of your trek. Wish you well

Posted using Partiko Android

And I look forward to sharing them with you all too. Good to have you on this trip!

Beautiful photograph! Happy Monday.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much, happy Monday to yourself too!

iceland look all time cooler beauty as there occasion

I'll have to give Iceland a visit soon then!

Coron is indeed very beautiful. But, it is kinda touristy. Have you also been in Tablas Island?

Actually no I've never heard of it... will give it a google. And agreed with the touristy part, should settle down once Boracay is opened!

I have been there. It is awesome for a few days /midweek and not touristy at all(if you like an adventure). Its next to Romblon! Just between Manilla and Borocay/Cebu.

They are really beautiful

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70