The Philippines - The Islands of Coron, The Final Chapter

in #travel6 years ago

"For a spectacular view of Busuanga and all of the surrounding islands, climb to the top of Mt. Tapyas!"    

「  The Islands of Coron, The Philippines  」

T H E   F I N A L   C H A P T E R


Coron, The Philippines
Tuesday, 9 October 2018

The view from the peak of Mt. Tapyas (with help from a drone of course!)

The last day of my stay in Coron was fast approaching and it's been an absolutely fun, filled and fantastic trip to this part of the Philippines. We decided to end on a high, literally, climbing to the top of Mt. Tapyas and taking in the stunning views it offered. But before that, we decided to drive to the Maquinit Hot Springs located due east of the town of Coron for an afternoon dip.

After a 30 minute drive through town and on some pretty muddy roads, we finally arrived at the hot springs. We parked outside of the entrance where we paid a very modest sum of 200 Pesos (about £2.80 or $4) to get in, and could stay as long as we wanted. We walked through some seating areas and changing rooms, and eventually arrived at a series of pools that were steaming away, filled with tourists and locals alike! Before we dipped in, I had to check out the area as we were very close to the sea. Tucked away at the back-end of the pools was a rudimentary wooden bridge that edged onto where the sea began. The view from here was gorgeous, and apart from a few others taking photos, it was very peaceful as the water was so still.

The wooden bridge at the back of the hot springs

After taking a few photographs at the back (and not of the hot springs as I felt uncomfortable taking photos of half naked people!), we got changed and prepared ourselves for the dip into the steaming hot springs. It was hot! The water ranges from about 30-40 degrees Celcius but for me personally it was the perfect temperature. It was a little busy but not too bad - perfect for chilling out with friends, or going alone and having a detox from the world in one of the other more private pools. It was hugely relaxing, and allowed me to reflect back on the trip so far, and what I had to come. We spent about an hour here, relaxing and resting, which was a perfect amount of time to prepare us for the climb to Mt. Tapyas, just in time for sunset! We were told the views are breathtaking so I was extremely excited!

After getting back to our Hostel to rest, we motorbiked to the base of Mt. Tapyas in preparation for our ascent up the mountain, towards the massive Coron sign we've seen from the town. The mountain is 210 metres tall, and is the second tallest mountain on the island. Furthermore, the climb up is comprised of over 700 steps - it can take an hour at a steady pace before you reach the top. However being absolutely excitable, my companion and I sprinted up the stairs in 20 minutes, taking a short 1 minute break halfway up to rest and take in the views. The big "SIARGAO" signs were getting nearer and nearer until finally we arrived at the peak of the mountain, slightly exhausted but very sweaty! A huge platform with a giant cross was immediately in front of us as we climbed the final step. However when we turned around to look at the view, what we saw stunned us like a sucker punch.

To the north, the rolling peaks and mountains piercing the sky as far as the eye could see, with the greens and yellows intertwining and changing with each mountain that it passed.

However, to the south, we were met with peaks of a different kind. This time from different islands scattered across the ocean, forming an ominous silhouette as the sun faded behind them, causing the sea to glisten and gleam.

It was perfection.

View of the mountains north of Mt Tapyas…

...And the view of the south of the Coron islands

We sat here for a while, what could've been a couple of hours, watching as the sun slowly disappeared behind the giant peaks of the Coron islands, watching the town below go about its business. I sat here and reminisced about my short stay on this wonderful island, the wonders that I experienced, the friends that I made and the adventures that I had. I was sad to leave, honestly. Very sad indeed. But I was content with what I had done. Every minute of every day was full and packed, and while I was leaving this wonderful paradise, I knew that I had several more ahead of me.

And what a way to end my stay in Coron.

Busuanga Island's second tallest mountain - Mt. Tapyas

With that, I said farewell to my companions who no doubt I would see again, and flew back to Manila to meet my family. It was my grandmother's 90th celebration, and we had relatives and friends fly from all corners of the world to be here in the Philippines. And to celebrate, the whole family and I were headed to a relaxing resort located about 2 hours drive south of Manila.

Stay tuned for the next part of my trip, - the stunning resort of Pico De Loro!


F I N A L  P H O T O G R A P H S
The Islands of Coron, The Philippines


D E T A I L S
🌏 | Coron, The Philippines
📷 | Canon PowerShot SX730 HS/DJI Spark
🎨 | Lightroom Mobile edits used


Over the next few weeks I'll be trekking through The Philippines and I'll be sharing with you my stories, emotions, advice and tips about this wonderful place. I will be doing this while sharing my photographs with all of you too. I sincerely hope this inspires you to go out there and travel!

Please do follow if you want to keep up with my journey through this country <3

Any upvotes or reblogs are hugely appreciated! Much love, everybody.


P R E V I O U S   P O S T

Click on the photograph in case you missed the last adventure...






I N S T A G R A M 📸

Follow on Instagram for more! Comment and say hello 💙

@stephengreenprice

Sort:  

Looks like you had a blast at the trip! Thanks for sharing and really nice images!

It's always more fun in the Philippines (literally is the slogan!) so yeah a lot of fun! :) And thanks so much for stopping by, glad you enjoyed it!

Great post! My wife @suitcasemama is from the Philippines and Coron is one of her favorite places, she did a Coron themed post a while back.

All the best on your travels and let us know if you have any questions on travel in the region, we're based in Thailand :)

Amazing! I'll be sure to have a look at the post. I lived in the Philippines as well so I'm sure your wife will agree its a wondrous place with a lot to offer and many unique places to explore. Thanks very much for your kind offer of advice, I truly appreciate it!

No problem, enjoy your travels!

Thank you - and enjoy Thailand! What a fantastic place to be based.

Glad you liked it :)!

Hey Nice post!

Check the latest rates of steem and steem dollar (SBD)

Just click the given below link and stay up to date with steem prices and analysis

Steem Price to usd: https://ouo.io/NXPkw5

Steem Dolar (SBD) Price to usd : https://ouo.io/pBishg

beautiful photos another great post.

Huge thanks @enosh, really appreciate the kind comment.

Yes indeed! Hope you get to visit :)

I love the Philippines. The people there are so nice that they treat a stranger who they will meet in the first time as a family. The place too is amazing. I wanted to go here also. Where is it by the way? I've been in Palawan but where is Coron located?

I love the locals here, and they love visitors to their country too! Coron is a cluster of islands to the north of Palawan. I've placed a map below so you can see!
image.png

You got a 14.21% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @seetheworld.sgp!

TOP Images! Great! 🖐🏽👊🏽😎

Thanks very much. Fully appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82