๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ท!!!Another Gem On The Road Less Traveled!!!๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ฒ

in #travel โ€ข 5 years ago

I thought we walked through a portal and landed in Puerto Rico!

20190103_124941.jpg

I just love it when our sense of adventure takes over...

Steem line 2.png

We were driving back from having spent Christmas and New Year's Eve in Ohio at our regular pace... it takes us two days to go from Columbus to New York because that's how we do!

20190101_013115.jpg

Happy New Year by the way my friends!


Let me rewind just a little...

Almost two weeks before Christmas I was blessed with having work really close to home and we were lucky to have an opportunity to salvage lots of building material from the job!

Unfortunately, wifey fell ill... maybe it was a flew, she had a difficult time breathing, she was congested and her body ached. At least her body waited for someone else to be around (that's me ๐Ÿ˜‰) so that life with a four year old could keep going strong and she would have someone to take care of her!!! It's funny how things seem to very often turn out that way in our lives. This type of thing happened every time one of us was sick on our Indian honeymoon. One was always in full form when the other got a bug!

Eventually she went to the doctor's, before our trip to see her family for the holidays in Ohio. Chest infection, sinus infection and ear infection... Holy crap, no wonder she wanted to stay in bed in a dark room!!!

And our little guy was starting to cough a little too. I took precautions, drank a lot of water cooked with tons of garlic, had shots of apple ciser vinegar with a little cayenne pepper and made sue I washed my hands a little more than usually.


The job finished, my mom's birthday wasn't happening because she went to meet my little sister in New Mexico to help her cope with the pain she was dealing with from her kidney stones! So we decided to leave the next morning, Jess and our little homie had just enough energy to get on the road, yeah!!!!

Christmas here we come!!!

20181225_150122.jpg

Once we got there, we found out here dad wasn't feeling well at all either... (what a lovely story, this is no?). He had gotten some sort of stomach flew, a bug going around town, the whole family had it! Well, sure enough Jess got hit by that bug too and spent most of the holidays ill... she had to fight another bug this time feeling more nausea than anything else as the first alements were fading away. The poor thing. And our little one must have been fighting something too because he woudn't eat anything, but he kept on making everyone play as he always does!

Than New Year's Eve came around, we had a party to go to. Jess wasn't feeling very strong but we went anyways to see some old friends of hers. I don't know if it was the alchohol or just the end of her illness but the next day she was cured and feeling her good old self again!!!

I thought I had beat the beast

...Well I thought I had beat the beast, but being so close to so many people carying flews and bugs and things for three weeks, one finally got me ๐Ÿ˜ง!

Luckily it only lasted some 48 hours, we were able to leave the next day as planned, on the 2nd day of the year!

And so we took our time to drive back home. The first day was ok, my belly would only cramp up once in a while and it generally only lasted a few minutes. On the second day I was feeling almost completely myself again.

And for lunch we decided to find something healthy. For those of you who have never come to the US, eating healthy on the road used to be almost impossible unless you packed your own lunch, went off the highway to find a local dinner perhaps, or go to a grocery store to make up a descent meal. Today, we have the internet and I think there are many more health conscious people than there used to be, therefore there's a market for healthy food too.

We used an app called Happy Cow, (you can also go to the site directly) to find a lovely Caribbean Restaurant that listed all sorts of vegetarian and vegan options in the middle of Pennsylvania!!!

Hey @freedompoint, @freedomtowrite and the whole traveling crew, this made me think of you. I know cooking your own vegan veggie meals is 1000 times better than many restaurants... but it may be a fun tool to add for your travels ๐Ÿ˜!

Steem line 2.png

Caribbean Connection in Lewisburg, PA... Excellent Island Cuisine.

20190103_124838.jpg

I really thought we walked through a portal and landed in Puerto Rico! The place was really cute and inviting and the delicious smells of curry and jerk chicken poored out onto the street. We couldn't wait to eat!

20190103_124955.jpg

See how excited they were!

20190103_124941.jpg

20190103_125317.jpg

20190103_125255.jpg

Jess had a curried vegetables with rice and peas, little man had a cashew meat empanada and I had Jerk portabella, chayote slaw with rice and peas.

It was really delicious, be warned the jerk is reall spicy!

It was so good, I didn't even care about the parking ticket we got while sitting there...

20190103_140940.jpg

And they had conveniently placed boxes to pay fines in! First rime seeing this for me ๐Ÿ˜Š.

Steem line 2.png

Well that's it for now... I hope you enjoyed the trip. Until next time!

20190103_124851.jpgProof-of-us

Oh yeah... I almost forgot about the ducks!

20190103_142854.jpg

QUOTE OF THE MONTH: @BinaryFlat

I am not what I used to be, and I never was.

(If you want your quote featured here, lookout for the next contest!)

THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS ALWAYS APPRECIATED

Steem line 2.png

The @EcoTrain has made me very happy and proud to be a part of it, have a look at what other passengers have been writing

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

Join Us On Discord

And don't forgetโ€ฆ Dreams Come True!

Sort: ย 

What a good ending to a sickly story!! I hope the rest of thr bugs from the winter season leave you all alone!

Thank you for the helpful tip!! You are right about cooking for yourself...but a treat is always nice!! Please tell Jess we said hi!

You're absolutely welcome, I'm always happy to pass on good tips to those I think would benefit from them.

Just said hi to Jess, she says it right back to you too ๐Ÿ˜. And I hope those bugs will stay far away from us for the rest of the season too. Keep healthy and happy travels...

So nice to see you all together, despite illnesses!! Sounds like a trial.

I find it amazing how much more health food is around on the road than before, even in small country towns. We live rurally and now have a wholefoods! And believe it or not, we have a fast food chain that's healthy right next to the Maccas on the highway services - I can even get a turmeric latte and a vegan bean burritto wrap. Awesome. That place looks particularly inviting though!

Happy New Year, Senor! xx All the best to you and yours, looking forward to seeing what the year brings you.

Thanks River, I am excited for the future as well... we just started making some vision boards and I included Natural Medicine of course thanks to you and the team for inspiring that!

Healthy fast food, sure I believe it. Why not, we can make real healthy food fast at home so why not in a restaurant setting... it sounds great ๐Ÿ˜.

Happy 2019 to all of you too.

happy new year my friend, glad you and your family got over all those bugs. The happy cow is a great app, just discovered it myself. xxxxx

Aha awesome to hear it works in Europe as well!
It's amazing how technology has brought so many different people or habbits from all over the world onto thw surface. It is much easyer today to be marginal, we don't have to follow the masses, we don't have to be affraid to stand out, we're everywhere ๐Ÿ‘ฝ

I love Caribbean food. Those folks know how to eat! And live... but that's another matter. <3

Ah yes... island life. Yes they know how to live, for sure!

Oh this makes me feel lucky that none of the people I spend christmas with, or myself, were sick ๐Ÿคฃ
Happy you got on your feet, and the road, again! That looks like a great lunch stop! In these occasions it is definitely a life-changer to have internet suddenly!

May the luck stay with you through winter. Yeah, great lunch, and that jerk, I figured a little spice could help kilking whatever bug was left in there! I am greatful we have the internet so readily available for sure!

and then I suddenly started feeling a little ill..! It gets to us sooner or later, doesn't it! I'm still grateful I didn't have it during the holidays though! :D

Oh no... so sorry! I hope it goes away quickly.

Don't forget the ducks! Looks like a cool place to end your journey. The flu is definitely going around at least someone remained standing at all times to care for the afflicted ha ha

Yeah funny how that usually works that way. Nature... I love it.

Dear @senorcoconut,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project โ€“ 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 Steem reward biweekly contest.

It would be great if we can have this story of yours included in the project. If you agree, please reply to us.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Hi, yeah I would love to have my story included in this great project. Thank you ๐Ÿ˜

Awesome @senorcoconut! Looking forward to read more of your stories :) We are still lacking a few stories before we close the submission. Do fill in fast!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SenorCoconut from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Thank you

Hey sorry to hear about the parking tickets - at least you enjoyed the restaurant and food.

Really like your points about food quality and accessibility. I'm not sure enough people are thinking about the quality of their diet in general and it becomes doubly hard while traveling.

Thanks, it was no big tickwt... 8 bucks. It really seema like people are eating a lot better these days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07