Baby Sea Turtles Hatching

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I got to witness over one hundred baby green turtles hatching and making their way across the beach into the ocean. This was one of the most beautiful experiences of my life, yet so heartbreaking. Seagulls were everywhere, dive-bombing the turtles when my friends and I weren't fending them off. Sometimes they would swoop down and pick them up, but then drop them in the ocean when they saw rocks flying at them at 100 kph. It was all out war. Too bad Australia doesn't allow shotguns... :/ Fortunately most of the turtles made it to the ocean, but that wasn't the end of their fight for survival, as an estimated 1 in 1000 sea turtles make it to adulthood. I'm just glad I can say I helped reduce those odds.


DSC_0791.jpg


DSC_0893.jpg


DSC_0838.jpg

Sort:  

What a beautiful sunset!

Wow what an amazing experience this must have been, would have loved to witness this too, so beautiful.

Love the moon in this shot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87