Sjennon sees the World #40 - A Hellride from New Delhi to Agra by Bus

in #travel6 years ago

Indian buses are something else. Especially if you're in them for six hours.

Prepare yourself for a trip filled with heat, sand, honking and people.

header.png

We were initially planning to take the train to Agra, because I obviously had to go and see the magnificent Taj Mahal. However, planning turned out to be shit and @wandereronwheels scheduled a bus.

Like I said, heat! These buses do not have air conditioning, so the only conditioning you're getting is New Delhi's freshly polluted air into your eyes, topped with a mixture of sand. Next time, I am bringing my goggles, hehe.

I don't mean to complain much, but.. I mean. As a western person, the chairs aren't quite made for our size.

That's alright. I had the seat beside me, so I could sit sideways. However, the longer we spend in the bus, the more people boarded it aswell.

The bus also slowly started to become fuller and fuller as it stopped at several bus stops. Why bus stops? They are simply sticks with a wheel on top of it, located at the side of the high way.

Which also had influence on my wonderful sitting situation.

At the end of the ride, my eyes were red and itchy due to the air being blown in my face continuously, but it was the start to see something pretty..

What is that, you ask? Well, to ease your curious minds - a little teaser.

To be continued...

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

My name is Shannon, I am a digital designer and I am currently on my world trip which I am exclusively blogging about on Steemit! :D There is not a specific goal to my trip other than to have fun, discover places and unravel the secrets of Thailand, Malaysia, India, Indonesia and the USA (for now). Follow me on my adventures!

Sort:  

Hey @sjennon I think you was New to visiting India. In my locality our public transportation is be like that 😂 so that's a problem of our public transportation maintenance.

This comment has received a 1.20 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @erode.

Hahah, you guys would be surprised by our buses then!

Yeah 😂

Hahah... @sjennon wrong bus choice...there happen to be a AC busses from Delhi as well from Noida....even we have daily Volvo services on this route.... though travelling in these local busses must help you to see India more closelly.....👍

India is a place i wish to visit

You must come....@uraniumdavid in case of any help let me knwo....👍

I really need the help
If you can i will travel the world to say thank You

I figured as the local, @wandereronwheels wouldn't let me suffer. I guess I was wrong :(

might be it was a quick program....which you and @wanereronwheels unable to take out all the option.. :)

We were planning to go there for a week..

ahhh...then u missed the luxury ride :) anyway the postive side is...you saw the real india...

I would've loved to have the luxury side though, haha. And I guess I did. Though, once and never again!

wonderful photography i appreciate your travel thanks for sharing this blog best of luck..

Thank you :)

Nice travel man
Do more man
More steem to you

Alright @sjennon Ma'am now my desire to meet you has soared even higher .You have very well depicted the way our lifestyle is.
It felt like I was watching that journey of yours in my mind itself.
Btw I have put this hand-drawn Doodle of steemit.I shall be ever grateful if you review it .
Please
Below it's
IMG_20180201_234753-01.jpeg
Below is the direct link to that post
https://steemit.com/art/@devasish/doodling-the-steemit-logo

All good !!
The bus is just an experience and show us how different things are around the globe.
I hope to see the rest of the story.
See you.

That is very true. I also used public transport in Thailand which was also a similar experience. This one felt more sturdy even actually!

@sjennon, I am sure that you wanted to continue your story of Taj in the next blog, as that will be wonderful scene isn't it.
With all the trouble a person takes to reach Taj Mahal, then after a magnificent scene of Taj, everyone forgets the trouble.
As @steemflow mentioned that you must have made your travel plans in a hurry, and therefore you took the cheapest local bus, otherwise there are hundreds of options available.
But I hope you have finally enjoyed Taj Mahal.
Look forward to your next to be continued part

It really was a beautiful view! I actually just posted it, so feel free to take a look!

Aah, I must say, I was a bit cranky the rest of the day though.

Cheers!

That's interesting and awesome! :) Long bus rides are something I know well with my personal record clocking at about 30 hours. Horrendous experience actually ;)

Actually the night buses aren't too bad. Ofcourse, I do prefer a sleeper train or just my own bed (I sleep awful in planes!)

Ah.. Now I know how much you must have cursed me for falling sick and how much you must have missed me during the Delhi trip 😋

I did :( :(

You better take me to Mumbai next time I come.

Pakka promise.. will do it.. get @things also

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82