Sjennon sees the World #49 - Visiting a Buddhist Temple in Bogor, Indonesia

in #travel6 years ago

As my family is buddhist, they couldn't wait to take me to their favorite temple

We went to the Vihara Buddha Dharma & 8 Po Sat. It has a big sleeping Buddha in the bigger temple and a couple of smaller tiny temple houses.

header.png

Before entering, there was a golden Buddha inside some like of concrete bird cage. His pinky was broken off. Possibly due to all the visitors touching him - which is supposed to bring you luck and prosperity.

After seeing the biggest sleeping Buddha in Thailand, I didn't expect anything. However, this one was quite large too.

On the table and all around, there were a lot of candles lit up, really creating a more spiritual atmosphere.

One you take a left, you find yourself in a garden with eight tiny temples.

What is a garden without a fountain! One thing I like about Asian gardens is that they never lack the desired art.

Thanks for taking this journey with me!

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

My name is Shannon, I am a digital designer and I am currently on my world trip which I am exclusively blogging about on Steemit! :D There is not a specific goal to my trip other than to have fun, discover places and unravel the secrets of Thailand, Malaysia, India, Indonesia and the USA (for now). Follow me on my adventures!

Sort:  

Really amazing picturshque beauty...👍

Keluarga yang romantis

That chest symbol looks uhmmm ... familiar but must have another meaning in that culture right? ;) Cheer$;)

Actually, he stole the symbol and turned into something bad.. This symbol has been around for decades in mostly Asia.

In Hinduism, the clockwise symbol is called swastika, symbolizing surya (sun), prosperity and good luck, while the counterclockwise symbol is called sauvastika, symbolizing night or tantric aspects of Kali.[8] In Jainism, a swastika is the symbol for Suparshvanatha – the 7th of 24 Tirthankaras (spiritual teachers and saviours), while in Buddhism it symbolizes the auspicious footprints of the Buddha.[8][9][10]

From Wikipedia :D

So interesting thanks Sjennon it really is amazing how things are misconstrued over time and events. In South Africa we have a word that is forbidden if you say it you go to jail (so I certainly wont type it) yet the real meaning of the word means a 'non believer' sad how things are ruined over time by evil folks. Enjoy the travels. Cheer$;)

It sure is. That actually doesn't sound that bad, but I guess it could be something offensive there!

There are some crazy laws out there too - for example you're not allowed to chew gum in Singapore.

Madness ye I heard that, or thought jail if you spat it out. Apparently walking across the road there in undesignated spots 'jay walking' illegal too. The word I was referring to is similar to the word in the States considered derogatory towards certain groups. It applies everywhere I guess at different levels and degrees!

Yeah, that's true! Jaywalking is also one of them.

Oohyes, I tried googling it and I think they refer to it as the N-Word? Or isnt'that the one you're talking about? Let the guessing game begin.

LOL haha let the controversy begin, ya something like that in the States but not here in South Africa another word applies. It's bad a woman was recently jailed for three years for saying it. Hectic! heres a clue... ;) https://www.yahoo.com/news/african-woman-jailed-racist-rant-loses-appeal-bid-150758991.html

Oooh, I think I've heard that word somewhere, but it's not very common to my knowledge!

Now, I must say that repeating the same word 48 times is a lot though. Guess she got what she asked for.

That's really fascinating! What a place!

are you buddhist too?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78