Sjennon sees the World #54 - I went Diving for the First Time!

in #travel6 years ago

Breathing underwater is crazy!

I've been trying to postpone this post so I could get the GoPro footage of the dive. Unfortunately, the guy still didn't send them to me and I am starting to believe he simply deleted them.

Anyway, I went diving! WOOT. The first time I was able to breathe underwater for an hour or so. And it's super weird!

header.png

I went for the PADI Discover one, which is basically a dive for noobs. Initially, you go into the pool, where you practice for a little bit: the breathing, regulating your position with your lungs and the basic hand signs for fish and other gestures.

We went to two different diving locations to explore the waters for an hour each. Nusa Lembognan and Penida are known for their manta rays, so let's spot those!

Honestly, it's super weird to breathe underwater. It makes a lot of noise, bubbles and it feels really inconvenient until you get used to it a little bit.

I've seen several fishies - I met Nemo and Dory in their natural habitats, aswell as a tiny shark, a manta ray, box fishes, sea stars and many more!

Also, you wouldn't realize this, but the temperature difference in the water is crazy! At some point, we went a bit deeper and it was maybe one degree colder. To me, it felt like it was at least 5 degrees colder. Apparently, it has something to do with the density of the water, making it feel even colder!

Overall, it was a great experience and definitely would do the discover thing again. I am not too invested to take on the Open Water course, so I definitely recommend the Discover one!

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

Frame 3.png

divider

My name is Shannon, I am a digital designer and I am currently on my world trip which I am exclusively blogging about on Steemit! :D There is not a specific goal to my trip other than to have fun, discover places and unravel the secrets of Thailand, Malaysia, India and Indonesia. Follow me on my adventures!

Sort:  

Welcome to diving. I started with a Discovery Scuba and didn't stop.
One thing I like about being underwater is often the bubbles are the only thing you can hear.

My ears somehow start cracking up and I have to clear a lot, so I didn't like that part as such. But it was a great experience and definitely recommend everyone to at least try it :D

OMG that's a awesome to hear your experience. Waiting for the chance to feel this in realistic 🤩😌

I really recommend it!

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Looks fun and congrats on finding Nemo (and Dory)! :)

I know the west coast of Bali a bit (the side with surfing) but haven't been to Nusa Lembognan yet. It's on the list though! I love Indonesia!

Ha, thanks! It was great to actually meet them, hehe. I was starstruck!

Nusa Lembognani is located east of Bali actually :D

I know, I lived in Indonesia for a year ;)

Wow,great experience.Have fun dear @sjnnone,hope you are doing good dear.

It really was! I am doing great, thank you. How are you doing yourself?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17