The Bell Tower Of Beijing | Highlights Of Traveling China

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

While walking through the Dongcheng District of Beijing, Michelle and I passed the Beijing bell tower. I managed to take a decent photo of the ancient structure.

The bell tower stands 33 meters high and houses the heaviest bell in China. The copper bell weighs in at 63 tons and is in the top 10 heaviest bells in the world. It is often called "the King Bell".

Unfortunately I did not photograph the close by drum tower, which was used in unison with the bell tower back in the day. We must have gone down a different street. 

Bells and drums were used often in ancient China for music and celebrations, but they more importantly they helped keep the time. The bell and drum towers were central to official timekeeping in China during the Yuan, Ming and Qing dynasties. The towers served as the official timepiece of Beijing until 1924, when western-styled clockwork for official time-keeping was adopted.

Image taken with my previous phone (Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge)

Michelle and I took a month to travel across Japan and China last May (2017). It was epic! Follow me, @slickwilly and Michelle, @curiouser for posts about our travel adventures!


Hi there, I’m Will. First and foremost I am an entrepreneur and voluntaryist. I aspire to help build a more free world, one that we all want to live in. Some of my biggest passions include cryptocurrencies, marketing, finance, cannabis, traveling, bodybuilding, snowboarding, motorcycles, and Subarus. All pictures are my own unless otherwise stated. I release everything under CC0.

  ℹ️  My website: williamjohnsonlong.com
▶️ My DTube Channel: d.tube/#!/c/slickwilly
▶️My DLive Channel: dlive.io/@slickwilly
▶️ My YouTube Channel: bit.ly/youtube-slickwilly
📷 My Instagram: instagram.com/slick_willyy/
Affiliated STEEM Accounts: @bitcoinshirtz & @trueliberty 

My Previous Steemit Post 

What Does That Have To Do With My Right To Be Free?

Sort:  

This was a small one but good to read!

I have been reading about your trip to China for sometime and they have been really good posts. I hope you keep it coming because frankly people don't look beyond South America and Europe for traveling.

I think you are the first guy that I know of on steemit who has shared his experience from a trip to the Chinese Mainland.

I've been following your travel blog since September 2017, and there's something about your travels they really showcase the beauty of Asia, expecially china and Japan, I've grown to love the Japan as a result of those amazing cars, this visit to china, makes me see so much beauty, do you live I'm Asia?

China has some very unique and cool building structures. I have to visit China.

I can easily witness that your travel to China was epic, you showed us EVery beautiful place you have gone through, and I really wanna to say thank you for that. People like me who can't travel this time, your post are source of joy and I can see the beauty of China :) You post about the China Wall was one of the posts that keeps everybody in touch with the China Tradition :)
Thankyou @slickwilly for that :)

Beijing is a beautiful city. Many peoples from pakistan visit china in a year. The relation b/w china and pakistan are very strong.

Amazing picture captured and i really liked the angle from where you captured this picture because the angle making this view so amazing and the sky view with combination of this Bell Architecture is making this picture really epic. And i really liked overall impression of this picture and those trees making this picture so natural and wonderful.

And while watching this picture it's clearly reflecting as this place is attraction for the tourists and why not, this Architectural Structure have the ancient essence.

Thanks for sharing this post with us and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

thanks this is beautiful building, I will visit China this Fall

Beautiful shot , beijing's a beautiful city😊.
Thank you for sharing.

The picture shows Chinese great architecture and their culture, thanks for sharing

That sure is quite a weight that the bell holds .The architecture is indeed looking nice by the way !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74