Abseil Trip

in #travel5 years ago

Last weekend we ventured over to Sheffield in South Yorkshire as @bingbabe decided she wanted to abseil down a 12 story building for the Red Cross charity.

I’m always up for these events but count me out of participating in this one as I’m not one for heights.

It’s been years since I crossed the Peak District National Park and literally over 30 of them since I was on the ‘Snake Pass’ A57 that joins Glossop to Sheffield.

IMG_4471.JPG

Snow was not what I was expecting in October. It wasn’t bad or sticking but you really don’t expect it, yet snow was what we got while crossing this windy high altitude road.

We parked up in the city getting raped at £8 for 2 hours in an NCP Car park and made our way to the Owen building in Sheffield Hallam.

IMG_4490.JPG

You could just join in the fun without pre-booking and I’m sure some were doing so. A few people walked past me the spectator, looked up and expressed an interest.

IMG_4456.JPG

Fancy dress was the code of the day, though @bingbabe and her friend were in casual clothes. Supergirl and Batman were among the visitors this day.

45 minutes later I was freezing my balls off waiting for them to start descending the building. Some of the previous participants looked like on the verge of bailing. If I was freezing, what was it like up there?

IMG_4482.JPG

Others were taking an age to come down too, more like ab-crawling. One bloke was doing the James Bond tactics of kicking off the side of the wall and descending 15 feet in one go.

He was doing well until a mistimed kick swung him around a little too much. He was lucky to not crack his shoulder on the wall.

IMG_4458.JPG

Finally @bingbabe (left) started her decent with her friend (right). They did well and didn’t take too long to get down. We even got some kicking off the wall from both before they reached the bottom. Not bad for a first attempt.

IMG_4488.JPG

IMG_4495.JPG

What’s next? She wants to do another building in Leeds next year. This one is over twice the height. Sounds fun.


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

It just proves my old theory one more time. You can stand around in 45C with a proper hat and a water bottle, but cold can kill you dead.

Nicely done by @bingbabe and her friend, and you too. Sometimes support is harder than the actual doing of a thing.

Couple years ago I was going to Borrego Springs and started getting cold going up Ranchita. I thought my electric gear had quit, blown a fuse or something, but it's only a few miles so I kept on. My gear hadn't quit it was freaking snowing and cold just ahead. The snow only stuck some on the road right at the very top, but it was stinking cold. I was really glad to get back into the Borrego Springs valley where it was like 5C. :)

Thats brilliant, good for her, It takes real guts to abseil, especially her first time from that height.
Snake pass and the snow made me laugh, at one ti e Id drive that route daily, there were times in winter it was closed more than it was open butmits a gorgeous drive when its nice :-)
Have a great weekend the pair of you :-)

That snow was a bit freaky. By the time we got back to Lancashire the sun was shining again. Those hills save us from the crappy weather sometimes.

Have a great weekend yourself :)

No no no no no no and .... no!

I really am not a fan of heights, but believe it or not I used to work at a place where they do this kind of thing. It was pretty interesting. The course was only about 20 feet in the air, but we had to practice rescuing people and stuff like that. The equipment is all really sturdy and that actually gives you some level of comfort even if you don't enjoy heights. The craziest part for me was when you had to clip the person you were rescuing onto your own harness then cut their line. Talk about scary!

I can do high ropes quite easily, so maybe I could do this too. Climbing over the edge at the top is the worst looking part. As you say a harness gives you that comfort zone.

Yeah, being at the top would probably be pretty bad. Especially if you tried to do it like they do in the movies where they walk down the building facing towards the ground. I don't think I could do that harness or not. It's always a little less stressful when they have you on live belay too.

Good for @bingbabe! I've never abseiled from that height. I do autobelay climbing regularly, and it doesn't make me nervous at all, but when I did a bit of abseiling outside with a climbing guide at Buachaille Etive Mor, it was one of the scariest things I've ever done! It was the leaning back and trusting my life to that rope I didn't like! I had to do a small bit of rock abseiling when I was doing my mountain leader course last week too, and I still found it pretty scary. I can't imagine what it's like abseiling down a building.

She seemed to like it, and wants to do another. I will be watching again, and not participating.

Good for her!

Really appealing, friend.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=slobberchops
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=abseil-trip


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 17.35% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.902 which ranks you at #4009 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 10 places in the last three days (old rank 4019).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 278 contributions, your post is ranked at #19.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70625.87
ETH 3563.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71