Hike # 7 : Climbing Pen-y-ghent

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

No, this is not a mountain in Wales though the name would indicate so. I am now on a mission to climb all Three Peaks before I start work in September and normality is resumed in my life.

besd8myqdd.jpg

Pen-y-ghent or Penyghent is a fell in the Yorkshire Dales, England. It is the smallest of the Yorkshire Three Peaks at 2,277 feet (694 m);the other two being Ingleborough and Whernside. It lies 1.9 miles (3 km) east of Horton in Ribblesdale.

So this was the baby of the peaks but you really would not think so with what you will see. I was waiting for a nice sunny day to do the climb. After the heat-wave we have had in England, the weather had turned quite normal so we took our chance when today is was sunny with little chance of rain.

916m3ixjst.jpg

The view from the car park was of a distant mountain. Pen-y-ghent has a very distinctive look about it. Winding up through a country lane, the ascent began past this jungle-like river scene.

mbh26sf9vg.jpg

We were on to moorland quickly and found a few more walkers were attempting to scale the peak. Even on weekdays these ‘Three Peaks’ really draw the crowds, some of them foreigners.

uuy0geqsz6.jpg

m9cnl3pavl.jpg

n4luoy8b1e.jpg

I took some time for frequent stops to admire the views I was already seeing. It really was a lovely day and made for scenic eye candy.

bvhw9e5pxh.jpg

The ominous form of ‘Pen-y-ghent’ got ever closer; dark and unfriendly looking when the sun was not shining. This one reminds me of a castle with those rocky looking ‘turrets’.

lts5h69nhm.jpg

Most of these mountain ‘hikes’ compromise of walking on moorland and slabs that have been placed down to make it a little easier. I have no idea how they get these ‘slabs’ into such remote areas, unless it was a helicopter drop.

1jtngramdf.jpg

I suggested to @bingbabe that we scale the barbed wire and go directly up the rocky part, but she declined.

e5y3h3ql5f.jpg

m6vgxgl221.jpg

As this point the walk started to get a little hairy. It was getting steep with big drops off to the right. I was trying to stay left to suppress my vertigo.

ablxofcvcw.jpg

Walking became scrambling; something I had yet to experience. There was a family with a little boy on this section. The boy was crying and didn’t want to carry on, obviously scared out of his wits witnessing the big drop he was seeing in front of his eyes.

1kt0r8r7d5.jpg

Sometimes it’s best not to look down, but if you don’t then you can’t put it across to others just how bloody scary this is for the inexperienced. My legs were getting jellied by this point but I needed to take these snaps to get my point across.

afdy71y3pc.jpg

92xlss71ae.jpg

The scrambling levelled off to walking again and I was asking @bingbabe, ‘Is that the worst part over’. No she replied.

0b6m34dzcy.jpg

Another section awaited me, steep but quite doable. The tiredness was setting in more than the fear; my legs were getting even more jellied by this point.

k72j5tlby3.jpg

jsl1pylipk.jpg

At this section, in which I had to mount an almost 2 feet high rock, I had to stop. I was breathing heavily and the wind was starting to blow. This is a picture of the big rock and is the only way up.

6t5engbdem.jpg

We noticed a few people taking dogs; this is a terrible idea in hindsight. How is a dog going to scale this?

ndmdoyyj0i.jpg

I took another snap looking down from this vantage point. My finger is on the top of my phone probably because I was getting quite terrified. You can see other families climbing leisurely up as though it’s a jaunt down the street. Is it just me?

gy42jx1efq.jpg

I tell you its not! One slip and you will get some pretty serious injuries. After the big rock hop there was a little more scrambling and we had reached a plateau.

cl0f8eqrao.jpg

Another few hundred yards and we had reached the summit where @bingbabe did her trademark pose.

owj6abxupv.jpg

ldeiywa4h1.jpg

We were not alone and there were plenty of others taking a breather and eating their sandwiches (people) and grass (sheep) it seemed.

6lqvn1k5nb.jpg

We were not going to descend the way we came; that was out of the question! The way down was a much more serene affair and much longer than the ascent.

9wk774ebwz.jpg

More great views on the way down and you can see the winding path that looks like the road to nowhere.

1nszus105h.jpg

zuemnsn43o.jpg

That’s TWO down now; I have one peak to conquer which may be next week if the weather is good!

All photographs were taken by myself.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Love your pictures man. Seems like you put a lot of work into your posts!

This route reminds me a lot of when I hiked in Scotland the west highland way! Also very beautiful and the route took about 7 days. I bet you have heard about it given you seem to love hiking. If not, you should check it out! haha:) cheers!

Hi, and thanks for the visit.

I have only just got the bug so haven't heard of this, Scotland is a little far for me.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Wow! This is really a great series. I love how you can express your fears and feelings. That's the real part, isn't it? How you do with yourself?

That fence on the way up just fascinates me. All the rocks. And the gazillion trips to the fence to stack them. It's just amazing to me. In my part of the world if property is that rocky it's just mostly left. I guess that is the difference in size and scale between the two countries.

The parts where you had to scramble look a lot like the places I have to scramble around here. With one huge difference. Mine are in a steep canyon with the walls reaching UP not down.

Thanks for the truly great post. I really enjoyed it,

Thanks @bigtom13, I try to entertain and it seems to work somewhat and sometimes. I still have Whernside to conquer yet, this biggest of the three. Hopefully next week if the weather doesn't suck.

Very nice! It looks like it was quite the hike just to get to the "mountain" from where you parked. That alone would have probably been enough exercise to last me a month! Great views though. I am not a fan of heights either. The other day I had to go up on the lift in the gym to adjust a projector and that thing terrifies me. It's all waving around and stuff the higher you take it. Ugh. Great job reaching your goal here and good luck climbing the third one!

It gets addictive and you feel like you have 'conquered' the mountain once climbed. You should give it a go! I suffer from heights but am trying to face the fear.

It looks like you are doing a great job! The closest mountians to me are close to 6 hours away and heavily wooded. Otherwise I might give it a try!

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Aw, poor wee boy. I would have loved that route, especially the big boulder! Scrambling can be scary, but if you lean forward and hold on with your hands when it's really steep, you should have no problems. I would not have taken the steep route over the barbed wire though - that looks like certain doom!
About 15 years ago I used to volunteer with the Loch Lomond Park Rangers, and we did some pathwork. We sometimes worked from massive bags full of rocks which had been dropped by helicopters. I'm not sure about slabs though - they might get broken if they were dropped from above.
I think I'll need to take a holiday in Yorkshire soon - those walks look great!

They are small fry compared to those you have been doing, and although they are scary I like the challenge.

So it is choppers that deliver all these things? They do make it easier for sure.

I do enjoy the "small fry" too! You need to do the small fry in order to get fit enough to tackle the big beasts :)

Impressive walk/ climb
The altitude would get to me.
You two are a great couple and are always having fun.

I enjoyed your post.

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Great hike and in a beautiful area.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! I'm quite new to this and it gets intoxicating.

Yes hiking is fun😁

Great views and awesome photos!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=slobberchops
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=climbing-pen-y-ghent-1defa5080346est


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15